Thursday, April 19, 2018

Chapters 11-15 of A Court of Thorns and Roses: SPOILERS!!

19 April 0 Comments

As stated in my previous post I am seriously going through this book at the speed of light. I'm still baffled at the fact that it took me ages to pick this up.
I honestly think it was all the hype that I saw over this series that put me off but I can totally see now why there was so much!

Chapter 11

I of course immediately knew that Feyre's father being outside her window was too good to be true but Feyre naturally, as characters in books tend to do, fell for it.

She's so beside herself that her father would come for her she quickly layers up in clothing and zooms outside. She's quickly reprimanded by Tamlin who always seems to appear when Feyre tries to do anything rash.

The creature ends up being (I think a faerie) who followed Feyre's scent through the woods and back to the estate to try to lure her to her demise by showing her deepest wants.

Feyre decides to tell Tamlin about her promise to her mother in which Tamlin reassures her that her family is being well taken care of.

Tamlin reveals that he was trained as a warrior so he could inherit the land from his dad. He expresses that this isn't at all what he wanted which elicits sympathy from Feyre much to her confusion.

The conclusion of the chapter ends with Feyre having a nightmare about killing Andres. Is she feeling regret or are her feelings about the faerie's changing?

Chapter 12

In this chapter, Feyre decides to make a map so she'll be able to know every exit just in case she ever needs one.

Tamlin returns to the house injured and Feyre promptly bandages up his hand for him. Meanwhile, he manages to make Feyre feel belittled because he figured out that she can't write properly.

After she wakes up the next morning, Feyre overhears Lucien and Tamlin having a heated debate over whether Tamlin is handling the situation with Feyre correctly. After being found out while eavesdropping, Feyre asks if she can accompany Lucien on his patrol and he explains that he's unavailable for the day but offers Tamlin's company as a stand-in. Soon Feyre explains that she abhors hunting and soon finds herself in the massive study the estate has.

Chapter 13

Feyre decides to try writing a letter back home to her family to warn them of the blight that has taken over the faerie lands. She tells us that since her mother managed to neglect her education growing up. Her sisters were taught but she wasn't, which was very confusing for me but ??? Oh well.

Frustrated that she's having problems writing the letter she decides to take a walk around the study. She finds a mural depicting the Fae lands and their history.

After she observes the mural Tamlin reappears and offers to help her write the letter to her family. Typical Feyre, she turns him down on his kind offer. This results in a blowout between the two due to Feyre's mistrust of him.

She decides that she needs to figure out a way to get Lucien on her side to get information on how she could potentially get out of her predicament. He clues her in on a way to catch a Suriel. These things can give you information on anything you want as long as you trap it.



Chapter 14

Feyre catches the Suriel. She's a lot less hot-headed than I figured she would be, but I guess that's a rare occasion for beings of that kind.
The Suriel clues Feyre on the fact that there's a king in the realm who doesn't follow the laws the rest of the faeries do and he's not very happy that he was forced to sign the treaty.
The Suriel tells Feyre that as long as she sticks close to Tamlin she should be okay.
Suddenly a group of horrid faeries shows up ready to kill Feyre and the Suriel. Feyre frees the Suriel.

Chapter 15

This group of faeries is called the Naga. Feyre then calls for Lucien but she was too far into the wood for him to hear so she realizes she's on her own to escape the Naga.

Lo and behold, Tamlin shows up to help the damsel in distress. We're all aware Feyre can take care of herself in her own realm but come on, she's up against all these other creatures she's never been near before so naturally, she'd need a little help from someone more knowledgeable than she is.

After Tamlin helps her they return to the estate.

So...I'm currently reading through chapter 16 and I'll be posting again once I finished chapter 20! See you soon. ;) 

Chapters 5-10 of A Court of Thorns and Roses: SPOILERS!

19 April 0 Comments
Well, it certainly didn't take me long at all to get through chapters 5 through 10 so I'll go ahead and recap them for you all below.

 Feel free to discuss anything relating to these chapters below in the comment section!

I know I'm like one of the few people in the book blogging community who hasn't read this series by her yet so I'd love some conversation about it as I'm getting swept away with the book already!

Chapter 5

In chapter 5, as Feyre travels towards the Faerie lands, we get some more background knowledge on just who the Fae really are.

The whole time Feyre is worried about whether her family will listen to her advice and live without her. This whole time I was thinking "DOES IT MATTER, FEYRE?" but it does matter. I love this already about her. Even though they've treated her like crap for so long she still takes care of them for their sake and her mother's. Feyre is a very selfless person and I admire her for that but I also want to hug her because DAMN has she had it rough between losing her mother and the way she's been treated by them.

When she tries to ask the accompanying beast his name, he ends up putting her to sleep with his magic until they get to their destination.

I know a ton of people pointed this out but is this supposed to be a twist on Beauty and the Beast? I don't have any prior knowledge of these books and haven't read anything about them other than reviews and the synopsis so I came into this book decently blind as a bat.

Chapter 6

After arriving at the house she'll spend the (presumably)  rest of her days at. Aggravated that he used her magic on her to conceal where they are she ponders how she'll get back home after she manages to pull off her escape.

Once inside she notes that there's a long table that's longer than anything she ever had when she was rich, filled to the brim with food she hasn't seen in years. She's confused on this because her whole life Feyre's been told of the faerie's horrifying eating habits but it looks to her like it's just normal food. She still distrusts it and refuses to eat.

We realize that the beast that has captured her is indeed not a regular faerie, but actually one of the high Fae. Who is super attractive (and moody if I do say so myself).

For some reason, her captor is wearing a mask as is the other faerie who comes into the room to join them for dinner. This confuses Feyre as well as me.

The recently arrived faerie demands from her captor to know if Andres is dead. He then looks to Feyre in disbelief that her, as scrawny as she is, took their friend down on her own. We learn that this Fae's name is Lucien. 

Chapter 7

In this chapter, we finally get Feyre's captor's name. It's Tamlin. This is the next day and Feyre still hasn't eaten. Tamlin forces her to sit down at the table and does crazy voodoo magic on her to make her sit there until she decides to eat. He mentions that it's her own fault if she passes out so I guess the Fae aren't as bad as Feyre's been lead to believe?

She inquires about what is expected of her within the estate. Does she earn her keep? What is she supposed to do with the rest of her life now that she's in another realm?

Tamlin tells her it doesn't matter to him how she spends her days and asks if she has anything she likes to do. She decides to keep the fact that she likes painting to herself because she's still upset over having to leave her family behind while she's sitting there with a massive feast in front of her and not be expected to earn her keep at all.

The dinner is painfully awkward as Tamlin manages to fuck up compliments about Feyre while Lucien looks on in amusement and funny quips.

Tamlin also decides to tell her that there's a sickness within the Fae community that keeps them from removing the masks and it has a potential to go across the Faerie lands into the human realm. This prompts Feyre to worry even more about the little family she was forced to leave behind.

Chapter 8

There's nothing insanely important about this chapter except Feyre explains to Lucien and Tamlin that her mother died when she was younger and she was the sole caretaker of her family.

We also realize that Tamlin has a heart and is supposedly taking care of her family in her absence. 

Chapter 9

Tamlin wants to show Feyre around the estate but she declines and he seems upset as he rushes off. Feyre can't make out why he's being so nice to her and it's a source of great confusion to her.

She sets off to find Lucien because she realized that her servant seems to be at least a little sympathetic so she believes she can get Lucien on her side to help plead her case to Tamlin. He invites her to patrol the woods with him.

Through conversation with Lucien, we learn that the masks were worn in honor of Tamlin's shape-shifting abilities.

Their patrol suddenly comes to an end when Feyre notices that Lucien has turned sheet-white. He tells her not to look around and to stare straight ahead and keep walking.

Chapter 10

We find out that ignoring this creature is nearly impossible due to its ability to get inside your head and plays mind games with you. It's honestly gruesome and even scared me a little bit. Imagine being in the woods yourself when a horrifying mist comes up and starts speaking to you telling you it wants to drain your blood.

Scary shit.

When Lucien and Feyre return to Tamlin's estate Lucien informs Tamlin that the creature (Bogge) is on the property and Tamlin promptly runs off to find and kill it.

As Feyre is waiting up for Tamlin to return from killing the Bogge she spots something through the window. It was her father to come and save her!

I think I'll do 5 chapters every post so I can keep it decently short and sweet! Feel free to chime in on any thoughts you may have about chapters 5-10 and go a post back if you feel like discussing chapters 1-4 with me!

Chapters 1-4 of A Court of Thorns and Roses: SPOILERS!!!

19 April 0 Comments
Hey, ya'll! I think I've waited long enough to read this book as I see this cover on a daily basis on my Bookstagram feed and have been curious about it for awhile. I read the first two chapters awhile ago but stopped for some reason.

I'm currently reading chapter 7 but I wanted to take some time to write today about chapters 1-4 so I don't forget everything as I'm super prone to do. I'm just a teensy bit air-headed at times. Lol!

Chapter One


We get introduced to a seemingly bitter girl named Feyre. I had a hard time pronouncing it until I found a sentence describing exactly how to say it. Lol. As the chapter progresses we see exactly why she seems bitter and IMHO it sounds like more than a good excuse to me. She's had it rough, that's for sure.

Anyway...she's in the woods hunting for animals to eat so her family won't go hungry. She spies a doe but then sees another set of eyes that are hungry for the same food she's dying to have. She's at odds with herself on whether the wolf is an actual wolf or a faerie. Feyre ends up killing it with an ash arrow she had bought because ash is deadly to faeries.

Chapter Two

We're introduced to Feyre's god-awful sisters and her father who rather annoyed me at first. We learn that Feyre and her family used to be rich but now they all depend on her to hunt and gather the food and tools necessary to their survival. Her sisters have the gall to act as if without Feyre they'd be fine but due to their father's mangled leg (he had been badly beaten at one point) he never wanted to get out of the house and left Feyre to fend for the family.

We come to realize that Feyre isn't some ninny that needs anyone else to help her through life. Even though she doesn't feel like it, she's definitely a survivor. YAYYYY for strong female leads in books! My favorite.

Feyre then explains that her mother made her promise on her deathbed to always stay with her family and protect her. Naturally, Feyre does just that at the cost of her feelings.

Chapter Three


The three sisters go to the market to sell the wolf and doe pelts. They run into people who worship the faeries called the Children of the Blessed. Nesta has an altercation with them because the faeries are the reason behind why things are so messed up.

Feyre meets up with a mercenary who tells her of more and more Fae are coming through their realm and attacking people.

Back home while the family is eating their dinner a massive roar interrupts them.

Chapter Four  

A beast flies through the door accusing Feyre and her family of being murderers. It turns out the wolf was a faerie and he was a friend of the beast who stood before them.

Feyre is told that since the treaty between her people and his people have been broken, she must pay for it with her life or come to live in his realm. Thankfully she chooses the latter, I would have been pissed if the book ended there with her laying down and taking it like a little... ;)

ANYWAY. She gives advice to her sisters as she's leaving including cluing Nesta on her crush's father's woman beating habits. Feyre's father exclaims that she's always been better than the rest of them and makes her promise not to come back and to make a name for herself.


Well...I'm way more than happy with how this book is turning out. I'll be discussing chapters 5-10 next time! Have any input on the first 4 chapters?

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Review: Pigeon-Blood Red by Ed E. Duncan

17 April 1 Comments




For underworld enforcer Richard "Rico" Sanders, it seemed like an ordinary job. Retrieve his gangster boss's priceless pigeon-blood red ruby necklace and teach the double-dealing cheat who stole it a lesson. A job like a hundred before it. But the chase quickly goes sideways and takes Rico from the mean streets of Chicago to sunny Honolulu, where the hardened hit man finds himself in uncharted territory when a couple of innocent bystanders are accidentally embroiled in the crime.
As Rico pursues his new targets, the hunter, and his prey develop an unlikely respect for one another and Rico is faced with a momentous decision: follow his orders to kill the couple whose courage and character have won his admiration, or refuse and endanger the life of the woman he loves? 






Genre: Thriller/suspense
Pages: 250
Publisher: Ed Duncan
Release Date: September 2, 2016
Author: Website
Book: Kindle | Paperback
When I started this book last year I feel like I didn't appreciate it as much as I do now reading through it a second time. At only 250 pages it manages to pack a surprising punch.

We follow Evelyn, wife of an unfaithful gambling addict from the streets of Chicago to Honolulu. What was supposed to be her second honeymoon to try and fix things with her husband turned out to be way more than what she could have ever imagined.

Evelyn's husband Robert has gotten in deep with a loan shark named Litvak. In what he sees as an opportune moment he manages to steal a necklace that seems to have come with a hefty price tag to pay back his debts in a warped sense. He manages to put not only Evelyn in danger but Evelyn's old flame Paul as well as one of her closest friends.

I would recommend this book for people who like a book that's fast-paced with several likable characters (and a decently likable anti-hero) and a whole lot of mob-styled bloodshed. I couldn't keep track of how many bodies there were by the end of the book, and because I'm demented, I liked that. Lol!

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Review: The Surprise Party (Fear Street #2) by R.L. Stine

15 April 1 Comments
Plot: Evan died a year ago within the horrible Fear Street woods. After Evan died, Ellen moved away leaving the rest of the friends to go their own ways.
Meg finds out Ellen is coming back for a visit and decides she wants to throw a surprise party for her.
When someone who didn't want that plan to take place catches wind of the party, Meg begins to receive threatening phone calls and has multiple brushes with death until the crazy conclusion to the story.

Writing Style: R.L. Stine is known for being an amazing author. He's a staple in everyone's personal collection so I think his writing speaks for itself.
There are a few passages that display the way the murderer is feeling as well as their racing thoughts that give you a sense of how they're feeling on the inside about the murder and the choices they're still making in the aftermath of it.

Characters: The main character is Meg who I think is a little air-headed if I do say so myself, but you can't expect much out of 80s teens. ;) Everything was so much simpler and no one felt unsafe like we do in today's society.
There are times when you see the murderer's point of view which I really enjoyed, it was super creepy to me to hear the racing thoughts and them trying to talk themselves down.
All of the secondary characters had their own well-developed personalities and everyone seemed a little suspicious one way or another so I had no idea who the murderer really was until the ending!

Review: When The Phone Rang by Harry Mazer

15 April 0 Comments
Plot: WHEN THE PHONE RANG by Harry Mazer follows the story of three siblings named Lorie, Kevin, and Billy and the aftermath of their parents' deaths. Kevin, the oldest, struggles with being the eldest and taking on the financial problems that come with custody of two younger siblings, while Billy is suffering in his head with anxiety from events that are out of his control and Lorie is being steered wrong by a new friend.

Writing Style: There's a reason Mazer's books were popular. They're written matter-of-factly and straight to the point with simple plots and a clear conclusion to the stories while still maintaining depth within his characters.

Characters: I sympathized with Billy because I could feel his anxiety through the pages. When I was younger I often had thoughts of what would happen if something tragic were to happen to my family and I don't know how many times I thanked my lucky stars my parents didn't fly on planes.
I also understood why Lorie got easily swayed by a bad influence after her parent's death. She felt as if Maryanne was the only one who understood her or cared about her and she was reaching out to anything that could make her feel less alone.
I have quite a few issues with Kevin right off the bat but I tried to be a little understanding about how hard it would be to go from being your own boss to losing your parents and taking over custody of two younger siblings. Anyone would lose their heads for a little bit on that one.

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Review: Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

14 April 0 Comments
 Plot: EMERGENCY CONTACT by Mary H.K. Choi follows a girl named Penny Lee as she juggles family drama, college life, discovering herself through her writing, new friends, and prospective boyfriends. 

Writing style: There was only once or twice within this story I wanted to roll my eyes. One of the times was when Sam's hair was being described. It basically said Sam's hair changed with his moods and I audibly scoffed out loud. It's almost as bad as the whole "my eyes change with my mood" trope. The rest of the story made up for that one issue I had, though.
There are deep meanings hidden within this book that brings to light just how damaging a traumatic event like rape can be. I really enjoyed how Choi explained it and properly portrayed how things can end up after such a thing has happened to someone.

Characters: I disliked Penny for the first few chapters but closer towards the end after I figured out exactly why she was the way she is, I felt myself feeling more and more connected to her. Not just through the traumatic experience that she had to endure, but also because I too feel the need to plan things just right so things don't end up going wrong. It's a lot of pressure on someone and I saw so much of myself in Penny it was crazy.

Despite the whole "Sam hair" thing I adored him. He was a sympathetic character and I wanted to shake his mother on more than a few occasions for treating him so poorly. I want to wrap him up in a blanket and bring him home with me. But I think Penny has that covered. ;)

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Monday, April 9, 2018

Review: Where I Live by Brenda Rufener

09 April 0 Comments
Plot: Where I Live follows the story of a homeless girl named Linden Rose who resides in the same high school she attends every day. 

She's keeping the fact that she's homeless from everyone around her including her two best friends Ham and Seung.

Linden is a witness to the school's most popular girl (and tormenter) Bea getting beaten by what everyone assumes is her meathead boyfriend, but once questions start getting asked, Linden's lies are in danger of being outed.

Writing Style: For some reason, I didn't exactly like how this was written. I always find fault with contemporaries and the way they are written and that doesn't mean that it's written horribly, it just means that it's usually not my favorite style. I think it's because a lot of YA contemporaries leave me with a lot of questions because some of the characters get away with a lot of things that normal people wouldn't be able to get away with in real life. It hinders my connection to the story, and that was my main problem with this one.

Characters: I adored Ham and all of his crazy antics and my heart dropped out of my chest at one scene that featured him. Lips are zipped...you have to read it to get it!
At times I loved Seung but at others I really hated him. I know he was supposed to be shown as loving and caring but a lot of the things he did made me want to slap him. I felt like he was pressuring Linden too much and when she wouldn't budge he got mad then acted like nothing happened? It seemed a little off to me so his character never sat well in my mind.
Linden is so strong but she makes a lot of excuses for Seung that I don't think she should have made. This book deals with a lot of physical violence but some instances throughout the book left me reeling with the words "emotional abuse" as well.

All in all, I give this book a 4/5! I'm so glad I got the chance to read it and review it so major thanks to the publisher and Brenda herself!

Goodreads | Author 

Friday, April 6, 2018

Review: Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett

06 April 0 Comments
Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett
Pub: 
4.3.18 by Simon Pulse
Genre: YA/Contemporary
Format: Hardcover ARC
Received via Publisher

Plot: Starry Eyes follows the story of a star-loving girl named Zorie and her hot goth/backwoods camping ex-best friend/lover/neighbor boy named Lennon. They haven't spoken to each other since the night Lennon ditched Zorie on homecoming without even explaining himself.
She soon finds herself on a camping trip with an odd mixture of friends and after a huge blowout between Zorie and one of her friends happens, Lennon and Zorie find themselves abandoned in the middle of the forest, alone. And awkward.

Forced to confront their past grievances we come to realize massive revelations and just how much has happened since they stopped talking.

Writing Style: Pretty much the same as any other contemporary YA book with romance at its core. Nothing too deep but still quite an enjoyable read.

Characters: I identified with Zorie right off the bat. She's a planner. If things don't go as planned she's stressed out and breaks out in hives.
I manage to work myself up that much as well. A set schedule is needed for my life to run smoothly and I feel more than lost without one. Throughout the story, she comes to realize a few things about planning her whole life out so I recommend this book to anyone who feels a massive need to control everything in their life to a T. This one is for you, O Anxious One!

I loved Lennon as well. If I were younger I would almost certainly consider him one of my book boyfriends. He's sarcastic, witty, goth, considerate, and more than capable of handling himself out in the wilderness where everything unexpected that could happen, happens.

The minor characters like Lennon's two mothers were pretty cool as well! They seemed super understanding and supportive of Lennon no matter what. I adored the character development Zorie's mother had, and I'm quite happy with what ended up happening to Zorie's father. I hated him almost immediately when reading about him.

Overall: A solid 4/5. Normal writing style with nothing too deep hidden within its pages. A variety of diverse characters were introduced to us and they all played a major part in helping the story along. Nature as a setting is one of my favorites so that was a big YESSSS for me.


OH! By the way! Do you all have a Bookstagram? I just started one and would love to see all your lovely posts. Follow me at little.fox.reads and shoot me a message and tell me you came from my blog post. 

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Monday, April 2, 2018

18+ Silicone G-Spot Rabbit Vibrator

02 April 1 Comments

This is definitely the best product I have gotten from TooTimid by far! It is certainly the best vibrator I've ever had in my life.

I love how soft and velvety it is to the touch. You need to make sure you're well lubed as any sort of friction on this will make the tip of it bend and not go where it needs to. You have the option to use either just the g-spot vibration or the clitoral vibration part of it OR you can use them both at the same time for a feeling that I swear is out of this world.

I would recommend this vibrator to someone who likes a lot of clitoral or inter-vaginal stimulation. I felt like it could have been a little girthier for me but I hardly ever care about inter-vaginal stimulation. The clitoral vibration part of this is what I love the most about it. It has 10 different settings so there is one for everyone!

The nib of the clit stimulator has a nubbed texture so it's definitely a different sensation as opposed to just an old normal vibration. It tickles but in a really good way!

It arrived in a super discreet bag so no one suspected what was inside! You find vibrators made o this material often having an "off" smell, but this wasn't and never has been an issue with TooTimid products.

Definitely worth the price in my eyes. I'll be using this for as long as I can and singing praise the whole way!

Thursday, March 29, 2018

You Do You: How to Be Who You Are and Use What You've Got to Get What You Want by Sarah Knight

29 March 0 Comments

Hey everyone!  We're gonna be talking about Sarah Knight's book YOU DO YOU today. I won this book on Instagram via Little Brown and Company. Not only did I win this one, but I won 4 others as well. I immediately grabbed this one out of the box and started reading it.

I am not  self help reader. I've spent a fair amount of time telling myself that I, in fact, do NOT need help. Lately, though, it's come to my attention that maybe I really do. I've never been lacking of resources, but I have lacked willpower to keep at it.
This book gave me the confidence I needed to admit it.

I have spent my whole life feeling sorry for not conforming to people but still very firmly holding my ground. That didn't stop me from wondering whether it would have just been easier to conform.
I have never had anyone tell me in my life that I should just be myself apologetically as long as I'm not a jerk about it.
I felt like Sarah was sitting in front of me giving me the most monumental pep talk of my life, and it worked. 

What I Liked:

-Knight places a high value on living your life happy and guilt free for doing so.
-Knight's attitude! She's snarky, foul-mouthed, and spunky. I felt like I was reading words that I've always wanted to say but I've never been able to get out.
-Set up in an easy to read way with short chapters, diagrams and anecdotes about her life
-All the encouragement!
-I've had a hard time lately with some personal issues regarding some of the things she covered in her book, so this really fell into my lap at a perfect time. Exactly when I needed some advice.

What Others Didn't Like, and Exactly What I Think About That:
-Some are saying Knight isn't mature. I think those people are exactly the people she's writing the book about.
There is nothing immature in watching out for numero uno as long as you're not being a douche. (An opinion she repeatedly states throughout her book as to not breed little psychopaths).
-"This book makes people think the world revolves around them." Well, what about the people who want to force you to conform to what they think is right? Isn't that literally saying that the world revolves around you and what you want?
-"Too many plugs for her other books." Well, yeah. If you've made something that you're proud of, you should flaunt the fuck out of it. Stop being upset with other people's successes. Her books are tools that help people.

I really enjoyed this book.  I haven't felt so inspired or good in quite awhile. I'll rave about You Do You for years to come.

Thursday, March 22, 2018

The First Book I've Ever (Almost) DNF

22 March 1 Comments

Jazz Bashara is a criminal.

Well, sort of. Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you're not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire. So smuggling in the occasional harmless bit of contraband barely counts, right? Not when you've got debts to pay and your job as a porter barely covers the rent.
Everything changes when Jazz sees the chance to commit the perfect crime, with a reward too lucrative to turn down. But pulling off the impossible is just the start of her problems, as she learns that she's stepped square into a conspiracy for control of Artemis itself—and that now, her only chance at survival lies in a gambit even riskier than the first. 



(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: Artemis
Author: Andy Weir
Published: November 14, 2017
Publisher: Random House
Pages: 303
Genre: Science fiction
I, Sabrina, always finish books. I have never DNF'd a book in my life. I've always trudged through it and held out until the end because I, Sabrina, also never can never admit defeat.

I haven't read Weir's first novel The Martian, so I can say at least I am not trying to make his second novel live up to his first. I just simply hated the main character, Jazz. She was self-entitled, annoying, and it seems to me like Weir has never spoken to a female in his life and just wrote what he thought a female would be like.

I didn't really get into it until the last 130 pages or so. It's a 303 page book, so I had to sit through at least 170 pages of pure hatred for this book for it to get better. I am proud of myself for getting through it because the end was better than the beginning, but I'm on the fence about reading any forthcoming novels from Weir specifically based on my feelings about this book. 

It was a little too over-hyped for me, because I expected a funny, quirky, bass-ass female character and was met with a brat, who didn't even change her attitude except for a teeeeensy bit after all she and her friends had been through. I would have definitely liked to see more of a change in Jazz and I probably could have been a tad more satisfied.

The setting, for being the first sci-fi book I've picked up in awhile was great! I've always thought sci-fi novels were just weird and I hated them, but I found I quite enjoyed everything in this book other than Jazz's incessant annoyance to me.

DISCLAIMER: I received this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

18++ | 7" Crystal Dildo

20 March 0 Comments

Hey y'all! I'm back with a new product review! It's time I started getting back into them, and I have a ton of items to review for everyone. :) First off is the Crystal Dildo from TooTimid.  

Let me start with saying I adore the color of this! It's super shiny, which makes the inner girly-girl in my smile wide. The texture of the crystal dildo is wonderful as well. Instead of being sleek, it has tiny veins and other markings on it that gives you a spectacularly real feeling.

Incredible is one word to describe this! The suction function wasn't really working for me well, until I stuck it to my bathroom wall and decided to go to town! I've never felt an orgasm so deep and powerful brought on by a dildo before. This hit all the right spots, I was immediately in love! It truly was a mind-blowing experience. 

I would recommend the smaller size for people who are just now starting to look into toys, but bigger if you have a massive butt as a smaller one would have been swallowed completely up by me!

I loved how flexible it was as well. It suctioned decently in my shower and didn't slip once on me no matter how fast I went! 

Disclaimer: I received this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

The Stone Girl's Story by Sarah Beth Durst

13 March 0 Comments

"Turtle had stopped moving last week.
He'd warned Mayka and the others a year ago, when he first began to slow - but he moved so slowly anyway that she hadn't believed him. Not really. She'd always thought they'd have one more afternoon. On the mountain, there was always another afternoon. Another sunset. Another sunrise.
Until there wasn't."

Publisher: Clarion Books
Release Date: April 3rd, 2018
Format: Papberback ARC via publisher
Pages: 323





Sarah Beth Durst is a master storyteller! In her newest book, we meet a girl named Mayka. She just so happens to be made out of living stone.
High up on her mountain where her and her friends live, she realizes that her friends are going to eventually pass away if she doesn't find a stonemason to re-carve their stories into them.
We join her on a brave adventure filled to the brim with danger around every corner for her and her friends who accompanied her on her journey.

I loved Mayka as a main character. She was strong and introspective. She relied heavily on her friends for support and they relied on her as well. She had amazing problem-solving skills that proved to get her and her friends out of multiple sticky situations.
She is loyal and knows the difference between rights and wrong and puts an importance on friendship, freedom to do as you please (within reason) and love.
All of these traits add up to a wonderful  strong female lead any pre-teen should be able to look up to.


Thursday, March 8, 2018

Tin Man by Sarah Winman

08 March 0 Comments

"All Dora Judd ever told anyone about that night three weeks before Christmas was that she won the painting in a raffle.
She remembered being out in the back garden, as lights from the Crowley Car Plant spilled across the darkening sky, smoking her last cigarette, thinking there must be more to life.
Back inside, her husband said, Bloody move it, will you, and she said Give it a rest, Len, and she began to undo her housedress as she mad her way upstairs. In the bedroom, she looked at herself sideways in the mirror, her hands feeling for the progression of her pregnancy, the new life she knew was a son."





Publisher: Viking Canada
Release Date: May 15th, 2018
Format: Paperback ARC via publisher
Pages:  213
Rating: 5/5

Synopsis from Goodreads:

This is almost a love story.
Ellis and Michael are twelve when they first become friends, and for a long time it is just the two of them, cycling the streets of Oxford, teaching themselves how to swim, discovering poetry, and dodging the fists of overbearing fathers. And then one day this closest of friendships grows into something more.
But then we fast forward a decade or so, to find that Ellis is married to Annie, and Michael is nowhere in sight. Which leads to the question, what happened in the years between?
This is almost a love story. But it's not as simple as that.

Review
:
Tin Man explores the feelings of your first true love, and how it can last with you for the rest of your life. I could not have fallen in love this book  anymore than I did. Truly a bittersweet book, that  really does break your heart and put it back together again.

We follow Ellis, Alice, and Michael throughout their lives. We come to learn about their intimacies and their low points in life. How Ellis and Alice fell apart from Michael and how they all came back together again. They all three have a very complex but easy relationship you can't helped but be pulled in and left in awe by.

At just 213 pages, it is a fast read, but doesn't feel rushed at anytime throughout the book.  There were so many emotions I felt during this short read, I'm half tempted to start it over right now and re-read it.

Nostalgic. Breathtaking. Hauntingly sad. Beautiful. Goosebump inducing...I can't recommend this book more.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Monday, March 5, 2018

The Mad Wolf's Daughter by Diane Magras + Blog Tour!

05 March 0 Comments

"The fog drew back upon the dark sea and revealed a gleaming point like a ship's bow, which seemed to nod at the girl brooding by the glowing bonfire.
"What's that?" Drest leaned forward, her hand on her dagger.
Her elbow dug into the shoulder of her brother Gobin, who lay with his arm slung over the fringe of his coal-black hair.
"Gobin?" She poked him. "Are you awake?"
"Nay."
"There's something in the sea."

(Based off of an uncorrected proof. Quotes taken may change by the book's publication date).

The Mad Wolf's Daughter by Diane Magras
Publication date: March 6, 2018
Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
Pages: 265
Genre: Middle grade fiction
Ages: 9-12
Grades: 4-7


BOOK DESCRIPTION 
A Scottish medieval adventure about the youngest in a war-band who must free her family from a castle prison after knights attack her home--with all the excitement of Ranger's Apprentice and perfect for fans of heroines like Alanna from The Song of the Lioness series.One dark night, Drest's sheltered life on a remote Scottish headland is shattered when invading knights capture her family, but leave Drest behind. Her father, the Mad Wolf of the North, and her beloved brothers are a fearsome war-band, but now Drest is the only one who can save them. So she starts off on a wild rescue attempt, taking a wounded invader along as a hostage.
Hunted by a bandit with a dark link to her family's past, aided by a witch whom she rescues from the stake, Drest travels through unwelcoming villages, desolate forests, and haunted towns. Every time she faces a challenge, her five brothers speak to her in her mind about courage and her role in the war-band. But on her journey, Drest learns that the war-band is legendary for terrorizing the land. If she frees them, they'll not hesitate to hurt the gentle knight who's become her friend.
Drest thought that all she wanted was her family back; now she has to wonder what their freedom would really mean. Is she her father's daughter or is it time to become her own legend?

Review:
Drest has never been off of her homeland, but one night when she wakes to see that her and her family are being invaded, she has no choice but to leave in order to save her father and her brother's who've been taken back to Faintree Castle to be hanged.
Accompanied by a left-behind knight, a boy named Tig and his pet raven, and her brother's voices in her head when she needs advice the most, they make their way towards the castle braving bandits and other great dangers along the way.

The medieval Scottish setting and language was what made the story for me. I loved hearing Drest and her brothers use slang that that area uses. Not only that, but I was really glad about how Drest's character was written. She went from a small scared child hiding out on a cliff, to chasing after her family's captors and braving things no child should have to endure in their lifetime. The character development in Drest was top-notch, and I really would like to read another book starring her. A girl can hope!

I think any middle-grader would take an interest in this book if they like adventures, danger, and strong female main characters.

AUTHOR BIO:



Diane Magras grew up on Mount Desert Island in Maine. The Mad Wolf's Daughter is her debut novel. She is the editor, writer, and chief fund raiser for the Maine Humanities Council. She volunteers at her son's school library, and is addicted to tea, toast, castles, legends, and most things medieval. Diane lives in Maine with her husband and son and thinks often of Scotland, where her books are set

Tour hosts:


WEEK ONEMarch 5 – Xpresso Reads – Review
March 6 – The Review Room – ReviewMarch 7 – The Book Deviant – ReviewMarch 8 – Pop! Goes the Reader – Author Guest Post – Feminism and gender stereotypes on bookMarch 9 – Rhythmic Booktrovert – Review + Instagram

WEEK 
TWOMarch 12 – Megan Write Now – Q&A
March 13 – Tween Librarian – ReviewMarch 14 – The Quirky Book Nerd – ReviewMarch 15 – Vicariously & Voraciously – ReviewMarch 16 – Mundie Moms – Character Profiles

Disclaimer: I received this book as part of a blog tour and in exchange for an honest review. Any opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Sunday, February 18, 2018

Flight Season by Marie Marquardt

18 February 0 Comments
"Lately I've developed a fascination with birds. It started in December, when a lovely little songbird perched above me in the branch of an enormous oak tree and refused to shut up. At the time, all I knew was that it was small and loud and incredibly persistent."

Flight Season by Marie Marquardt
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Release Date: February 20, 2018
Format: Hardcover ARC via publisher
Pages: 321
Genre: Contemporary
Star rating: 4/5

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Back when they were still strangers, TJ Carvalho witnessed the only moment in Vivi Flannigan’s life when she lost control entirely. Now, TJ can’t seem to erase that moment from his mind, no matter how hard he tries. Vivi doesn’t remember any of it, but she’s determined to leave it far behind. And she will.

But when Vivi returns home from her first year away at college, her big plans and TJ’s ambition to become a nurse land them both on the heart ward of a university hospital, facing them with a long and painful summer together – three months of glorified babysitting for Ángel, the problem patient on the hall. Sure, Ángel may be suffering from a life-threatening heart infection, but that doesn’t make him any less of a pain.
As it turns out, though, Ángel Solís has a thing or two to teach them about all those big plans, and the incredible moments when love gets in their way. 



Review:
Flight Season is a book about grief, immigration, birds, romance, and realizing what's important to you in life.

I figured it would take me awhile to get through this book, but in reality it took me two days, and only because I've been sick and needed sleep was it not done in a day. I could not stop turning the pages to see what would happen next between Vivi, Angel, and TJ.

All of the characters had distinctive personalities. Vivi was melancholic, soulful, and she loved helping others out as much as she could. TJ was quiet and inverted, and insanely romantic. Woo-worthy.
Angel was the glue between Vivi and TJ. He was strong and funny despite his debilitating illness. Always cracking jokes with TJ and knowing Vivi on a higher level, he made the story.

The romance in the book was developed in a natural time and manner. It wasn't insta-love, in fact it was quite the opposite. The fact that the romance wasn't rushed is what made me like it, besides the fact that TJ and Vivi were made for one another.

I've been trying to read about things I don't normally read about, so it was a relief to learn that this book deals with the sensitive topic of immigration and deportation, and what it looks like once those things take place. It certainly draws a light onto how the immigrants are treated. I'm so glad to have had the chance to take a peek into what it could be like for immigrants to the U.S. and I feel like I have a way better understanding of the subject now than I did before picking this book up. The best books are ones you can learn from, in my opinion. 

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in YA romance, diverse characters, likes birds, or someone who wants a deeper YA novel.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Friday, February 16, 2018

The Key to Every Thing by Pat Schmatz

16 February 0 Comments

"Morning sunbeams streamed through the window. Tasha closed her eyes and turned away.
"You up?" Her great uncle Kevin knocked, then opened the bedroom door. "Awake?"
Tasha nodded without opening her eyes.
"Time to get up," said Kevin. "We're leaving in twenty minutes."
He closed the door. Tasha rolled out of bed and got dressed. She kept her back to the window that faced the Captain's Quarters next door. If Cap'n Jackie was watching for a morning salute, she'd have to wait a long, long time."

(First paragraph is subject to change when the book is actually published)

The Key to Everything by Pat Schmatz
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Release Date: May 8, 2018
Format: Paperback ARC from publisher
Pages: 198

Synopsis from Goodreads:
For eleven-year-old Tash, Cap'n Jackie isn't just the elderly next-door neighbor — she's family. When she disappears, only Tash holds the key that might bring her back.
Tash didn't want to go to camp, didn't want to spend the summer with a bunch of strangers, didn't want to be separated from the only two people she has ever been able to count on: her uncle Kevin, who saved her from foster care, and Cap'n Jackie, who lives next door. Camp turns out to be pretty fun, actually, but when Tash returns home, Cap'n Jackie is gone. And Tash needs her — the made-up stories of dolphin-dragons, the warm cookies that made everything all right after a fight, the key Cap'n Jackie always insisted had magic in it. The Captain always said all Tash had to do was hold it tight and the magic would come. Was it true? Could the key bring Cap'n Jackie back? In a heartfelt and stunningly written story, Pat Schmatz introduces readers to a tenacious, fiercely loyal girl struggling to let go of the fantasies and fears of her childhood . . . and say yes to everything that lies ahead.


Review:
This is the somber coming-of-age story of Tash, who is forced to grow up quickly when her neighbor, one she pens "Cap'n Jackie" breaks her hip while she's away at summer camp.

THE KEY TO EVERYTHING is a quick read at only 198 pages in the paperback. I desperately wanted to know more about Jackie, Kevin, and Tash by the end of it so I could have done with a slightly longer book. It's a middle grade novel, so it's decently short and directly to the point.

This book centers around grief and the subject of death is brought up, but the moral of the story is a happy one. We don't always have to stay sad forever after our loved ones go on, we can find comfort in things eventually if we let ourselves.


Thursday, February 15, 2018

Olivia Twist by Lorie Langdon

15 February 0 Comments
"For long minutes, there was considerable doubt as to whether the child would survive to bear a name at all. Although, being born in a workhouse was not the most fortunate of circumstances, in this child's case the alternative would have made for a much different story; likely a very short one."

Publisher: Blink/Harper Collins
Release date: March 6, 2018
Format: Paperback ARC via publisher
Pages: 333
Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis from Goodreads:
Olivia Brownlow is no damsel in distress. Born in a workhouse and raised as a boy among thieving London street gangs, she is as tough and cunning as they come. When she is taken in by her uncle after a caper gone wrong, her life goes from fighting and stealing on the streets to lavish dinners and soirees as a debutante in high society. But she can’t seem to escape her past … or forget the teeming slums where children just like her still scrabble to survive.
Jack MacCarron rose from his place in London’s East End to become the adopted “nephew” of a society matron. Little does society know that MacCarron is a false name for a boy once known among London gangs as the Artful Dodger, and that he and his “aunt” are robbing them blind every chance they get. When Jack encounters Olivia Brownlow in places he least expects, his curiosity is piqued. Why is a society girl helping a bunch of homeless orphan thieves? Even more intriguing, why does she remind him so much of someone he once knew? Jack finds himself wondering if going legit and risking it all might be worth it for love.
Olivia Twist is an innovative reimagining of Charles Dickens’ classic tale Oliver Twist, in which Olivia was forced to live as a boy for her own safety until she was rescued from the streets. Now eighteen, Olivia finds herself at a crossroads: revealed secrets threaten to destroy the “proper” life she has built for her herself, while newfound feelings for an arrogant young man she shouldn’t like could derail her carefully laid plans for the future.



Review:
I have something to admit...I've never read or seen anything related to Oliver Twist in my life. After reading Langdon's book, I'm definitely going to be finally able to pick up the original book now. Before ever reading the synopsis, I was drawn in by the cover. I felt like it was begging to be read. As soon as I got it in the mail, I cracked the spine and got to reading. And didn't stop until it was finished.

Olivia was born in 1841 in a workhouse. Her mother died, leaving her to fend for herself. She was raised as a boy by her wet nurse, as a girl in that time had no chance of surviving.
Soon, she was stealing from richer people and selling the loot just to survive.

Fast forward 18 years, we see that she is in a much better position. I immediately knew I was going to like Olivia. She was sassy and hard-headed. Two things that were frowned upon by the society of that particular time. Female characters who go against the grain is an aspect of a book that I really, really enjoy.

OLIVIA TWIST is a historical fiction with romance, mystery, and suspense thrown in. I don't normally go for romances because I can't ever seem to connect with the couples, but Jack and Olivia are my exceptions. Jack was insanely swoon-worthy, and has earned the title of my first book boyfriend of the year. They did tend to annoy me with how back and forth Olivia and Jack were, but all of the pleasant moments between them made up for it. They both had their reasoning for how they acted, so I can't judge too harshly on this aspect.

The atmosphere of the story was a good one as well. I've never been super into historical fiction but I've been reading more and more books that deal with it lately and I think it's growing on me, definitely more so now that I've read this one. 

Charming, decently fast-paced, and super interesting! Made for a great read, and will definitely make it onto my list of favorite reads of 2018 at the end of the year.

Monday, February 12, 2018

Knockout by K.A. Holt

12 February 0 Comments

"Who am I?
I am Levi.
I am small
but fast
I am smart
but dumb.
If you move the letters of my name around
you get live.
So here it is.
This is my life.
This is what it's like
minute by minute

match by match

to live a Levi Life."



Publisher: Chronicle Books

Release date: March 6, 2018
Format: Hardback ARC from publisher

    Pages: 339


Synopsis from Goodreads:
Levi just wants to be treated like a typical kid. As a baby, he had a serious disease that caused him respiratory issues. He's fine now, but his mom and overprotective brother still think of him as damaged, and his schoolmates see him as the same class clown he's always been. He feels stuck. So when his dad—divorced from his mom—suggests he take up boxing, he falls in love with the sport. And when he finds out about a school with a killer boxing team and a free-study curriculum, it feels like he's found a ticket to a new Levi. But how can he tell his mom about boxing? And how can he convince his family to set him free?

Review:
I don't even recall asking for this book for review, or if it was just sent to me, but I'm so glad it showed up on my doorstep!

It's written in prose, and occasionally scattered throughout are pictures made up of words. Levi and his brother write back and forth to one another in a notebook, so those journal entries are included as well. Since it's written in this form, it's a fast-paced read, but still allows you to get close to all the characters and feel and understand why they do the things that they do.

I got quite annoyed with Levi's father and his brother on occasion, but hatred for characters is what makes a book next to love for them! I ended up really liking his brother, his dad on the other hand...could have used a backhand to the face a time or two.

All in all I really enjoyed this book about a boy trying to find his way after being sheltered all those years. I loved the boxing aspects in this as well, it made me a lot more interested in the sport because if it makes people feel THAT good, I want to see what all the fuss is about as well. Novels that make me want to do new things are always my favorite.

Disclosure: I may or may not have received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Regardless, all opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Paris Adrift by E.J. Swift

11 February 0 Comments
Montmartre, Paris

The anomaly is waiting is waiting. It has been waiting for a long time, although the anomaly's sense of time differs from a conventional understanding, given the peculiarities of its nature. It does not know exactly what, or rather who, it is waiting for, but it will recognise them when they come. The anomaly is ready. Its hunger grows.


Publisher: Solaris
Release date: February 6, 2018
Format: Paperback ARC via publisher
Pages: 379


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Determined to escape her old life, misfit and student geologist Hallie packs up her life in England and heads to Paris. She falls in with the eclectic expat community as a bartender at the notorious Millie’s, located next to the Moulin Rouge.
Here she meets Gabriela, a bartender who guides her through this strange nocturnal world, and begins to find a new family. But Millie’s is not all that it seems: a bird warns Hallie to get her feathers in order, a mysterious woman shows up claiming to be a chronometrist, and Gabriela is inexplicably unable to leave Paris.
Then Hallie discovers a time portal located in the keg room. Over the next nine months, irate customers will be the least of her concerns, as she navigates time-faring through the city’s turbulent past and future, falling in love, and coming to terms with her own precarious sense of self. 

Review:

This was a slow read for me, but I enjoyed it when I made it to the end. I chalk this up to me not being a big science-fiction fan as opposed to the story being not up to par.

The main character is a girl named Hallie, who's run away from England to Paris to take a year off from university. Soon she picks up a job with an odd group of friends at Millie's.
Soon Hallie is being stalked by a strange bird, then soon, a woman who claims to be the "chronometrist." She then finds that there is what seems to be a time portal in the keg room of the weird bar she works at.
Soon she's travelling back and forward in time to try to make tiny adjustments for the betterment of the world.

The characters in this book are odd, yet satisfying. They all have their own unique personalities that you begin to adore over the course of the book. I felt like I kept Hallie at a distance for some reason, not really feeling like I ever knew her fully at the end of the story.

I preferred the time traveling aspects to the story far more than Hallie's "own time" happenings. I seem to be in the minority of this opinion, and I'm okay with that! I was definitely an odd book, and one I haven't ever read any other like, so I'm more than happy with it.

Highly recommended for anyone who would like to read a book that has sci-fi, Paris, and time-travelling all within it.

Monday, February 5, 2018

Ten Cents a Pound by Nhung N. Tran-Davies

05 February 0 Comments
Ten Cents a Pound by Nhung N. Tran-Davies
Illustrator: Josee Bisaillon
Publisher: Second Story Press
Release Date: April 18, 2018
Ages: 7-10 years

"Mama, I see your hands,
Coarsened and scratched,
by the twigs and the bark of trees that grow, row on row,
By the leaves and the berries, picked one by one.
I will stay with you."

A little girl realizes the hard work her mother puts in day to day, making her hands rough, her back stoop, and her feet calloused.

Her mother encourages her to go beyond what she herself settled for and buys her daughter books and paper, and shoes to get herself to wherever she needs to go.

This book truly does show the love and bone between a mother and a daughter, and how a mother wants what's best for her child, even if it means that they both have to make sacrifices in order for the daughter to have a better future.

I love that I found a book written by a Vietnamese author who put an emphasis on education and she showed that there is more to life than what is right in front of us. All we need is a push in the right direction and if we're willing, we'll be well on our way to a brighter future.

The description in this small book is astounding, and I felt both the love and the pain in the exchanges between the mom and the daughter. 10/10 book. Must read for every child.


Mr. Mergler, Beethoven, and Me by David Gutnick

05 February 1 Comments

Mr. Mergler, Beethhoven, and Me by David Gutnick
Illustrations: Mathilde Cinq-Mars
Publisher: Second Story Press
Release Date: April 18, 2018
Pages: 32
Ages: 7-10

"Not long after my family arrived from China, I went to the park with my father, whom I call Baba. Lots of people went there to play, enjoy the flowers, and have picnics. That's where I rode my bike, and one special summer morning, it is where I met someone I will always remember."

A family moved from China to North America, and soon after, on a day that Baba and his daughter took a trip to the park, they met a man who would change her life forever. His name was Mr. Mergler.

Mr. Mergler loved music, and he loved teaching children what he knew. He just knew that he had to have her over to teach her what he knew, and bring her capabilities to live.

We all have people in our lives who've taught us lessons that have stuck with us for years. Mr. Mergler was based on a real man who dedicated his whole life to music and teaching others the value and wonder in it. He passed away at the age of 77, but his legacy lived on through his pupils.

This is a super sweet and poignant story, with intricately drawn illustrations throughout. I can't wait to get my hands on a physical copy. I believe this is a children's book that needs to be in all libraries.

Friday, January 26, 2018

Lucy Castor Finds Her Sparkle by Natasha Lowe

26 January 0 Comments

"Lucy Castor did not like change. It made her queasy and uncomfortable, and she tried to avoid it at all costs. Luckily, she had lived her whle life in the little western Massachusetts town of Hawthorne, in the same clapboard house on the same street with the same set of parents, so change was not something Lucy had to deal with very often. And when it did come along, she could usually cope with it, like the time her mother decided to make chicken on a Monday instead of spaghetti, or insisted Lucy wear a skirt and not her usual sweatpants when they went out for dinner. Or the time her parents replaced their old green sofa (the one Lucy felt certain could fly if she knew the right magic words) without asking her first. These things were mildly upsetting (well, the sofa was heartbreaking) but Lucy generally recovered quite quickly, and life would go on in its familiar, comfortable groove.
At least until the weekend before she entered fourth grade, when a series of monumental events shook Lucy's world, and everything began to change."

(First chapter may change before publication date)

Lucy Castor Finds Her Sparkle by Natasha Lowe
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers/Paula Wiseman Books
Release date: February 20, 2018
Format: Paperback ARC via publisher
Ages: 8-12
Pages: 240

I feel like I have a little Lucy Castor in me. I hate change. I like things to stay the way they are, because I feel like changes are little portals straight into Anxiety-Land.

This book would be perfect for children ages 8-12 because it involves a lot of things children of that age have to deal with. Drama between friends, things changing in your life, and possible new additions to the family.

It's a very cozy book, although we can all tell that Lucy has major anxiety. She is obsessed with magic and magical moments, which I think we all could learn a thing or two from her if I do say so myself.

Lucy is also very quirky and goes against the norms of what seems to be what everyone else is doing. She still believes in magic, she loves her neighbor's Chloe's outrageous outfits, and she collects nests. I like that Lowe wrote about a girl who isn't all about sparkles and other shiny things. It's showing children that it's okay to be themselves because your true friends eventually find you anyway.

A cute cast, a cute story, and an even cuter ending. Definitely a recommended read to Elementary/early middle-graders everywhere.