Monday, November 20, 2017

Lily Farm Fresh Skin Care

3:52:00 PM 0 Comments

Lily Farm Fresh is an organic skin care line. The products are made in a USDA certified organic lab!
I was lucky enough to be able to try out these products. Read on to see my thoughts!

Balancing Seaweed Facial Cleanser - This product is made out of essential oils and organic seaweed. If you have oily or a combination skin type this product is for you. Tea tree oil is an ingredient in this which makes it also great on acne prone skin types.
It made my normally dry/combination skin feel amazingly smooth. I couldn't stop rubbing on my face.
You also don't have to use a huge dollop of this to cover your face, as a small amount goes a long way regarding this. 

Rejuvenating Enzyme Mask -  I love this product because it's made with honey, which is good for moisturizing and drawing bacteria away from the skin.
I don't have an issue with saggy skin yet, but I did notice that it made my face a teeeensy bit tighter, which I definitely liked after I got used to it. It's also a very good softening product as well. It also didn't irritate my skin at all.

Oil-free Skin Conditioning Mask - This is perfect for people who have issues with oily skin. I just had a problem with the smell, but it can be dealt with from the benefits of this product.

Balancing Facial Toner - This has never dried my skin out. I also love that aloe vera is in it.

Balancing facial lotion - I have an issue with lotions being too thick for me, and this was the perfect remedy. Goes on smooth, and doesn't leave a weird feel on your skin.

Disclaimer: I received these products in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Friday, November 17, 2017

Plaine Products: Friendliest care products in the world.

11:18:00 AM 0 Comments

What is Plaine Products?

Plaine Products is a shampoo, conditioner, and body wash company who sell these products that are good for the environment. They have a recycling system that the earth benefits from.

The bottles are refillable, so once you start running out of your shampoo, conditioner, or body wash you can order a refill for it!
You can take the refill lid off the new bottle, put your empty bottle in the box, and ship it back at no cost to you!

Single use plastics are a big issue in this world, and this is a good idea to help combat that.

Review:

I actually quite liked these products. The shampoo and conditioner made my hair feel silky smooth. My only downside is the fact that I have oily hair. My hair got oily one day after using this, as opposed to other hair products I use. 

I do believe the message behind this is quite good, and they all smell so good in my opinion. The combination of rosemary, mint, and vanilla is perfect for setting the mood for Christmas!

DISCLAIMER: I was sent these products in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Friday, November 10, 2017

The Eternity Elixir by Frank L. Cole

3:39:00 AM 28 Comments

Twelve-year-old Gordy Stitser is one of the few people who knows the truth about the secret society of potion masters, because not only is Gordy’s mom on the Board of Ruling Elixirists Worldwide (B.R.E.W.), but she has also been training Gordy in the art of potion-making. 

Gordy is a natural, and every day he sneaks down to the basement lab to invent new potions using exotic ingredients like fire ant eggs, porcupine quills, and Bosnian tickling juice.
One afternoon, Gordy receives a mysterious package containing an extremely rare potion known as “The Eternity Elixir.” In the right hands, the Elixir continues to protect society. But in the wrong hands, it could destroy the world as we know it.  
Now, sinister potion masters are on the hunt to steal the Eternity Elixir. It’s up to Gordy, his parents, and his best friends, Max and Adeline, to prevent an all-out potion war.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: The Eternity Elixir (The Potion Masters #1)
Author: Frank L. Cole
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Published: January 2, 2018
Pages: 272
Genre: Fantasy & Magic, children's books

I've never read the magic that is Frank L. Cole until Shadow Mountain sent me an ARC to review. I decided to take a break from reading more serious books and sat down with a middle-grade novel that was much more than what I imagined it to be.

We follow Gordy, a gifted Elixirist, his friends and his family on a ride filled with evil Elixirists in a race to get a mysterious potion everyone seems to want to get their hands on. 

Gordy is a level-headed young boy who seems to make decisions far more adult-like than I see in a lot of real life children. I think he would be a good role model for middle school youngsters. Max is his faithful and hyper-active sidekick, and Adeline is a secret baddie who helps more than she gives herself credit for. She's also the one who keeps the two boys in check. Ever since I read Harry Potter, I was a fan of the "two trouble maker boys and a mother figure girl who keeps them in check" trope, and these three characters definitely deliver.

 Where this book lacks in world building, it makes up for by packing in the adventure and funny dialogue with a more than intriguing plot and a variety of different characters all unique in their own ways! I can't wait until Potion Masters #2 comes out, whenever that may be!

DISCLAIMER: I received this book in exchange for an honest opinion. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Product Review: Frisky Throbbin Hopper Vibrating Cock & Ball Ring Review

3:56:00 AM 0 Comments

This is my second go around with a TooTimid product, and look how cute it is! It's a vibrant purple, with cute little bunny ears that vibrates with an intensity that couples will love. (If you like high intensity, that is).

Physical Details:
-Purple
-Stretchy silicone rings to fit perfectly over the goodies
-A high intensity vibrator
-A bunny sleeve with ears to give the receiver some extra pleasure 
-Soft to the touch
-A rabbit nose nub to touch the perfect spot
-Comes with 3 LR44 batteries
-The bullet is plastic and removable 
-Non-porous 
-Hypoallergenic 
-Phthalate-free (info on phthalates here)

Experience:
I really wanted to like this! It's so cute, and my this was my boyfriend's first toy he's ever had. He liked it quite a bit. The intense vibrations gave him a new experience he's never felt before. It also fit snug and comfortable around his package when he wanted to work, but sometimes the ring that fits around the balls slipped so there was a lot of readjusting we had to do.

My body is very hard to please at times. Things have to be positioned in the perfect spot or I get nothing from it. Mostly I kept trying to move it into the spot it needed to go and had to focus on that the whole time instead of enjoying myself. This toy wasn't for me with the actual bunny sleeve, but the removable bullet was great to use anyway.
So even if it's not for me, it could be right for you! I do love the ears and how they vibrate, but I have to sit still in order to enjoy them and when you're trying to have fun in the bedroom sitting still isn't on the menu for the night.

Disclaimer: I was sent this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

The Little Match Girl by Hans Christian Andersen

10:09:00 AM 18 Comments

The classic children's story The Little Match Girl, by Hans Christian Andersen, is retold for a Christmas audience as part of the annual Christmas concert series hosted by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

This beautifully illustrated edition shares the story of a young girl who attempts to sell her last bundle of matches on Christmas Eve. As the snow falls and the crowds pass her by, she strikes one of her matches, hoping for a little warmth. In its flame, she sees a vision of a roaring fire in a hot stove. The match goes out, taking the vision with it. A second match conjures a vision of a vast dining room complete with a feast fit for a king. The third match reveals a towering Christmas tree. With only a few matches left, she strikes them all and sees a vision of her beloved grandmother. Only this time, it is more than a vision as the spirit of grandmother takes the little match girl with her into heaven.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: The Little Match Girl
Author: Hans Christian Andersen
Retold by: David Warner
Paintings by: Greg Newbold
Published: 10/17/17
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Pages: 32
Genre: Classics

I remember reading plucking this off of the bookshelf in the library when I was in Elementary school, and sitting there reading it and just being completely inconsolable because it was just so sad. Now that I'm older, I see the moral behind the story. It highlights hope and trust in God despite any situation you're in, no matter how hopeless it may seem.

The incredible paintings by Newbold will make you feel the scenes. The cold nips at your fingertips. You go through the hopelessness with the little girl. Gorgeously drawn, I believe this is the best adaption of The Little Match Girl I've ever read.

Not only is it a good Christmas story, it also highlights the way things were back in the 19th century so it could also be used as learning material in a history class.


Sunday, November 5, 2017

The Mindful Way to a Good Night's Sleep by Tzivia Gover

10:26:00 AM 30 Comments

This accessible guide to cultivating deep, restful sleep — naturally — combines author Tzivia Gover’s expertise in both mindfulness and dreamwork. Accompanied by a healthy dose of encouragement, Gover presents practical lifestyle advice, simple yoga poses, 10-minute meditations, and easy breathing exercises, along with visualization and journaling activities. You’ll also learn how to cultivate your dream recall and set the scene for safe, productive dreaming. This holistic approach extends into your waking hours with tips on morning routines to ensure that sound sleep leads to refreshed, more conscious living all day long. 

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: The Mindful Way to a Good Night's Sleep
Author: Tzivia Gover
Publisher: Storey Publishing
Published: 12/12/17
Pages: 184
Genre: Non-fiction

Since I was a little girl, bed time was when my anxiety went through the roof. I recall having non-stop bad dreams about my family members dying or their heads floating because they detached themselves from their bodies. Once a snake even ate all of my Christmas presents and my family sat 
there and laughed at me! You can see why I didn't exactly like sleeping as a child.

In response to that, I developed a myriad of mental illnesses, and in response to that...I decided that the most healthy thing for me to do was stay awake as much as I could. At least until I wore myself out so much I didn't even have to bother with bad dreams because I'd be too exhausted to remember them.

Now at 22, I can say sleep and I have a better understanding of one another. I still have nightmares, but I can deal with them better now. Occasionally. I won this book from a Shelf Awareness contest, and when I got it I immediately dived into it.

Gover incorporates a ton of tips for getting a good night's sleep into her book. She asks her readers questions that makes us think back to our dreams, and what they could mean for us. Her philosophy is that no matter how bad a dream may seem, there is always room for growth from them. Which makes sense! Obviously nightmares are manifesting from what we're dealing with in our every day lives, Gover just helps us along to figure out exactly what is going awry and gives us different ways to look at things in order to set our daily lives back on track.

The set up of the chapters and the incorporation of quotes about sleep are helpful in keeping the book light-hearted. It even propels you along so you're not sitting there re-reading a non-fiction book sentence three times over because that speficic line isn't sticking with you. Gover definitely has a way with words, and conjures up your past dreams to help you figure out what they mean.

In the back is even a mini dream journal to get you started on your journey. After reading this, I wrote a Facebook post to my friends simply asking, "What was the last dream you had?" I got an insane amount of responses, and I think it was also fun for everyone else to read about other people's dreams while getting feedback on their own.

Definitely a 10/10 book. Recommended for people who are into dreams, dream interpretation, or simply just want to start paying more attention to what their bodies and minds are telling them.

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Archie, Vol. 1: The New Riverdale

1:12:00 PM 0 Comments

America’s Favorite Teenager, Archie Andrews, is reborn in the pages of this must-have graphic novel collecting the first six issues of the comic book series that everyone is talking about. Meet Riverdale High teen Archie, his oddball, food-loving best friend Jughead, girl-next-door Betty and well-to-do snob Veronica Lodge as they embark on a modern reimagining of the beloved Archie world. It’s all here: the love triangle, friendship, humor, charm and lots of fun – but with a decidedly modern twist.

Brought to you by some of the masters of the comic book genre, including writer Mark Waid and the all-star lineup of artists: Fiona Staples, Annie Wu and Veronica Fish, the first volume of ARCHIE presents readers with a new take on the beloved Archie Comics concepts while retaining the best elements from the company’s 75 years of history. ARCHIE VOL. 1 collects ARCHIE #1-6 and features bonus content including scripts, sketches, variant covers and the full first issue of the all new JUGHEAD series by acclaimed writer Chip Zdarsky and artist Erica Henderson.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: Archie, Vol. 1: The New Riverdale
Author: Mark Waid
Illustrator: Fiona Staples, Annie Wu, Veronica Fish
Publisher: Archie Comics
Published: March 29, 2016
Pages: 176
Genre: Comics and Graphic Novels

I was a big Archie comic lover growing up. I had a new issue in my hands every Friday after my dad got off work. He would go to Wal-Mart, pick it up, then deliver it to me where I'd be waiting with my hands out and a big smile plastered on my face. I was addicted. I even went to old thrift stores and sale barns to find the super old ones that costed like 25 cents. Archie was a staple in my life, and I look back on them in fondness. 

When I found out Archie was getting a modern update, I was hesitant. I felt like nothing could compare to my old Archie. I'm glad I took the leap to read this one, though, because I felt that nostalgia all over again when I picked this volume up. 

I love how in the intro Fiona Staples made her opinion on Archie very clear, and that they were so respectful with how they rebooted the stories and characters. I don't think this job could have been handed to a better group of people than it was.

The characters ended up having a lot more depth to them, which I loved. The love triangle (which was always super weird to me growing up) makes sense to me now. I always loved Jughead, but he's so much more a part of my heart now that he has more involvement in the comics rather than him just being Archie's best friend.

The look of the book is so much more amazing now too. The colors are vivid, the characters stand out more. There's just so much to see without it being overwhelming. The art style definitely draws you in so much that you want to examine every part of it before you turn the page.

I definitely recommend anyone who loved Archie when they were younger to pick this up and read it, and even if the comics weren't a major part of your life, there's more of a chance than there's not that you'll like the book too!

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

12:50:00 PM 0 Comments

Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales. 

Wealthy cannibals who dine on the discarded limbs of peculiars. A fork-tongued princess. The origins of the first ymbryne. These are but a few of the truly brilliant stories in Tales of the Peculiar—known to hide information about the peculiar world—first introduced by Ransom Riggs in his Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.
Riggs now invites you to share his secrets of peculiar history, with a collection of original stories, as collected and annotated by Millard Nullings, ward of Miss Peregrine and scholar of all things peculiar.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)
Title: Tales of the Peculiar (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children 0.5)
Author: Ransom Riggs
Illustrator: Andrew Davidson
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers
Published: September 3, 2016
Pages: 192
Genre: Fantasy

As if I didn't love Rigg's books already, here he is with a collection of short stories told as folklore set in the world of Peculiars. These short stories are told to us by none other than Millard Nullings, the invisible boy who we were introduced to in the Miss Peregrine books.
Each one of these stories is a look back in history of some peculiar lives. I adored a couple of these stories, but all of them were good. A few of my favorites were "The First Ymbryne", which tells us how the Ymbryne's came to be, and "Cocobolo", a tale about a man named Zheng and his avoidance on becoming just like his father until he is plagued by the same issues his father had before he disappeared.

I appreciated the creepiness of some of these stories, because they're told with no-holds-barred and a matter-of-fact attitude. I would think this book is a great introduction into the books if you haven't read them yet, just to get you familiar with the Peculiar world and its history.

The artwork is an absolute dream, and I loved every single photo in it. They were all so intricate all I could do is stare and devour every inch of the page when I turned to one that had photos on it. Davidson definitely has talent, and he uses it well.

Sunlight Burning at Midnight by Jess Ronne

3:54:00 AM 0 Comments

"Starting out in life as a young wife and mother, you never imagine the ways your hopes and dreams might be completely shattered. For Jessica and her husband Jason, a series of unrelenting heartbreaks struck, beginning with their baby's diagnosis with a life-changing disability. Just a few short years later, thirty-three-year old Jason lay in a hospital bed, battling a Glioblastoma brain tumor. And within the span of six years of marriage, Jessica became a widow left alone to care for their four young children, including one with special needs. But the story doesn't end there. In the midst of storm after storm, Jessica stubbornly clung to God, and she found him to be faithful. Enter Ryan Ronne, a young widower and father of three. Ryan had also lost his spouse to brain cancer-in fact, around the same time Jessica's husband, Jason, had succumbed to the disease. Just as the idea of sunlight burning at midnight sounds impossible, so it seemed unlikely anything beautiful could arise from their devastation. But a new love story emerged, along with a combined family that now numbers eight children. As featured on the Today Show, theirs is an inspiring and encouraging story of faith. Here, Jessica Ronne tells her riveting story of finding hope amid havoc, and of the surprising ways that pain often commingles with joy."


I received an e-mail to join a launch party for this book. I quickly skimmed the synopsis and said I would give it a try. I devoured this book in two days. It would have been less, had it not been so emotionally taxing. 
Jess Ronne is a mother who has been through it. From worrying her child wasn't going to make it, to losing her husband at the ripe age of 33, she is no stranger to grief. She made it through with her faith in God to guide her.
I must admit I'm the first person to throw books about faith away, I'm too angry and confused over a few things to be fully accepting of God right now, but reading these books make me feel a little better. Only slightly a bit jealous, because I know it takes a brave person to hold onto faith in trying times. I never once wanted to put this book down, though. I never felt as if Jess was shoving her faith down my throat, but simply showing how God helped her through two of her hardest moments throughout life.
"I realize now that I use anger to express every other emotion I was feeling. Anger was safe. Anger clouded the pain, the anguish, the tears. Anger was something that could be directed at someone or something."

Through the whole book, that sentence was the one that resonated with me. I do too, Jess. One day I hope I'll be able to find faith, or something else to cling to that helps me get over that. I can only aspire to one day be as faithful as Jess is to God. I was in awe of her strength, and her ability to admit when things were less than okay. This book will stick with me for the rest of my life. I loved it.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest, unbiased view. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Friday, November 3, 2017

Product Review: Hydrive Energy Water

10:39:00 AM 0 Comments

Okay, to start off, I was pretty iffy about these drinks. Caffeine doesn't do anything for me. Energy drinks are pretty much a no go. Too expensive with little to no results. I reached out to Hydrive to get a feel for other products on the market that might induce at least some results to my liking. Hydrive did that for me, and went beyond what I expect.

I am usually not a black cherry kind of person, I would go as far as saying it's my least favorite flavor out of anything. The Black Cherry tasted like literal cherries, but better. My favorite was the Blue Raspberry, but I would drink any flavor of these if they were handed to be without hesitation. I didn't hate a single flavor that was sent to me at all, which is super surprising since I'm picky when it comes to what I drink.

Hydrive uses citric acid and natural flavors to sweeten their drinks, and in turn makes it healthier than leading brands of energy water. Mix in Vitamin B, which is proven to have an effect on your energy levels. And it does its job well. I have a new favorite energy drink I'll be buying from now on, and I urge anyone seeking a healthy alternative to try this and see how well it works on you.

I'm on a night shift schedule. I woke up at 3am one day, stayed awake until 24 hours later and still didn't feel exhausted even though I had been running around and laughing like a maniac with my friends. Definitely good for people who works nights, or just need an extra boost throughout the day!

So what exactly is Hydrive?

Hydrive Energy Water is made to keep you healthy and hydrated, while giving you a little extra pep in your step. With no calories or sugar, and great flavors like Citrus Burst, Black Cherry, Blue Raspeberry, or Triple Berry, there's a flavor for everyone!


Thursday, November 2, 2017

Product Review: Rabbit Teaser Bullet Vibe

2:02:00 PM 0 Comments


I initially e-mailed TooTimid to see if they had any products for me to review. After a few e-mails back and forth with the wonderful Bethany, I had decided on two toys to try. One for me, and one for my boyfriend to use with me. This review is over the Luxe rabbit teaser.

First off, what is TooTimid?

TooTimid was founded in 2000 as a way to buy items some people may be "too timid" to go into a store and buy toys or other products. They provide women and men alike with top quality products that are shipped fast and discreetly. No more awkward small talk with the cashier at the store while he or she is ringing up your purchases.

Physical Deets

The rabbit teaser is a sleeve over a small bullet vibrator in the shape of a rabbit. I got pink, which is coincidentally my favorite color. The sleeve is made out of 100% silicon which is amazing because silicon is non-porous, and in turn means they don't harbor any dirt or bacteria. This doesn't mean you don't have to clean your silicon toys, though! Always stay safe and make sure you properly clean your toys to maximize your fun time. 

Since this toy is made out of silicon, it also means it's super soft to the touch. The nub of the rabbit's nose is a little harder than anywhere else on the vibrator. Perfect for clitoral stimulation.
The cord attached to it is 2 feet long, so you can lay it beside you or keep it in your hand for something to hang onto for the ride!
There are three different settings on the dial, the highest being my favorite. It's not extremely overwhelming, but just the perfect amount for me.

Two AA batteries are needed as they are not included with the toy.
It's not loud at all, so it's an item I'd recommend for someone who lives with paper thin walls, or for someone who just doesn't like to be distracted by the sound of their sex toys.
The plastic feels a tad flimsy, but I assure you it gets the job done, and you're not messing with the plastic part for anything else other than to inset batteries and change the vibrator's settings.
At just $19.95, I feel like you really can't beat this cute, powerful toy.

Click to buy it here, if ya want!

My Experience

This was my first time using a rabbit, and I was not disappointed in the slightest. When I got it, I noticed that the packaging was extremely discreet. That's a plus for me considering I live in an apartment complex and don't want my neighbors seeing the contents of the packages I'm receiving. 
When I had extra time, I ran a bath, turned the lights down, and lost myself. 

The rabbit is soft. I have extra sensitive lady bits, so super hard toys aren't a passion of mine. This was the perfect amount of soft, even with the rabbit nose nub.
 All three settings for the vibrator are strong in the best way. I like intense sessions, so I always turn my toys up to the highest setting, but I had fun with all three, and didn't have any issues you know...getting there!
The only downside to this is that if you're a woman who likes to edge, or hold off on the finale, your hand will eventually get tired of the vibration. If you like to just get to it, you won't have any issue with your hand getting tired because this vibrator can get you there in no time with very little effort on its part.
Another part I really liked was the ears. If I put the nub (rabbit nose) on my most sensitive part, then the vibrating ears tingled in the right spots to create a whole new experience I've never felt with a vibrator before. The ears can also be used to light a fire anywhere else on your body!

All in all, this toy is definitely a 10/10. I would recommend this to anyone starting out with rabbit vibrators, or anyone who likes easy to use toys!




DISCLAIMER: I received this product in exchange for an honest, unbiased review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

November Goals!

3:38:00 AM 1 Comments

I'm joining Nicole over at Writes Like A Girl to share my November goals! I can't recall if I've ever blogged about monthly goals before, but if not, there's a first time for everything right?
❤︎  - Read at least 15 books this month. They can be graphic novels, or full-length novels, but just reach that goal!


❤︎  - Find a job! I recently quit my job at a plastics factory due to an unresolved sexual harassment case. I want to find another job that isn't mostly men so I'll feel a little bit more comfortable working this time around. I really liked that job, but oh well! Onto bigger and better things, now.

❤︎  - Pay off some (even if it's a bare minimum) of my student loan so I can go back to school faster. Since I haven't been in school I feel myself slipping into a mundane life of barely scraping by. I don't want to live like this for the rest of my life, so I need to get that loan paid off so I can go back to filling my mind with knowledge that will help me have a better future.

❤︎ - Get a kitchen table or at the least a coffee table for the living room! Recently my boyfriend and my dog and I moved into a new apartment together. We pretty much have everything we need, but we do need things like a kitchen table and chairs and a coffee table to really make our house a home.

❤︎ - Print off photos of Trevor and I to put up around the apartment to actually make it feel like ours finally!

❤︎ - Get out of the house! Trevor and I have a habit of just staying indoors and enjoying the company of one another and our dog, but it's Fall, and Fall is my favorite time of the year. I need to find some fun Fall activities to do and drag him along with me to do them and make some memories.

Do you have any November goals that you want to meet? Leave a comment or a link to your blog post below so I can pay a visit to your blog as well! Thanks for reading. ❤︎

Do you want to keep up with me in other ways?


Product Review: Go Organically Fruit Snacks

1:09:00 AM 0 Comments

Everyone loves fruit snacks, am I right? I know I do, along with everyone else in my household. What if I told you you could get fruit snacks that were actually pretty darn healthy for you? Healthier than the brand you buy right now, most likely? And tastier.  Whaaaat? Fruit snacks that are healthy for you but taste more amazing than the ones that are less healthy for you? I know, I was in awe as well.

Go Organically fruit snacks are USDA certified and made with actual fruit juices and made from real fruit purees. Just one serving of these include all of your daily recommended Vitamin C along with vitamins like E and A. Not to mention the fact that just one serving of these is only 70 calories!

The flavors include grape, pear, pineapple, apple, orange, cherry, strawberry and raspberry. They're also free of preservatives, have no artificial flavors or colors, no high fructose corn syrup, gluten-free, free from genetically modified ingredients, and zero trans fats. And like I said, they're still yummy. This just proves that food that is good for you can still have a good flavor!

Click here to enter their sweepstakes

You could be one of the 10 winners who receive a $50 gift card to use for your Thanksgiving meal and a box of each variety of Go Organically Fruit Snacks

OR

Be the grand prize winner and receive a $4,000 donation to a charity in your name, a $100 gift card to use for Thanksgiving dinner, as well as a box of each variety of Go Organically Fruit Snacs

You can find Go Organically at any of the links below:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

R.I.P. Eliza Hart by Alyssa Sheinmel

12:28:00 AM 0 Comments
Title: R.I.P Eliza Hart
AuthorAlyssa Sheinmel
Publisher: Scholastic PressPublished: November 28, 2017Pages: 336Genre: Social and family issues, depression and mental illness

Synopsis from Amazon
:


When Eliza Hart, the most popular girl at Ventana Ranch boarding school, is found dead, Ellie Sokoloff is determined to figure out what happened to her. After all, Eliza was Ellie's childhood best friend.
Never mind that ever since Ellie arrived at school Eliza has spread terrible rumors about her, calling her a liar and a stalker, when all Ellie wanted to do was rekindle their old friendship. Or that Ellie's claustrophobia limits where she can go and what she can do. Or that Ellie's suitemate, Sam, is the only one who will help her . . . because to everyone else, Ellie looks like the top suspect.
Can Ellie clear her name and solve the mystery behind Eliza's death? Her hunt for the truth will uncover secrets she never imagined, sending her deep into her own memories of her childhood with Eliza Hart.
New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel delivers a gripping mystery and a sensitive and moving examination of the secrets that can hold us back--and even destroy us.

Review
:

I am so glad I read this book. It's set in a boarding school, which is always a setting that intrigues me since I went to public school all my life. I'll be the first to admit the two girls, Ellie and Eliza confused me at first because their names were so similar, but after I figured out what was going on the reading was smooth sailing from there.

I had quite a bit in common with Ellie, I believe. Which immediately made me like her. She's claustrophobic, as am I. I'm not as bad as her, but I'm skittish about getting into an elevator, or being hugged too hard, and enclosed water slides make me panic to no end. Connecting with a book character through such a unique thing is wonderful, because I can understand exactly where she's coming from and just how tiresome it can be to be worried about whether you'll be put in a situation that triggers you.

R.I.P. Eliza Hart follows the story of two young girls named Ellie and Eliza. Eliza seems at first to be Ella's bully, but further on in the story your opinion will drastically change after the story begins to unfold.

I believe this to have one-upped 13 Reasons Why in every way imaginable. I've never seen a write be so spot on with mental health issues than Sheinmel has been. She approached it in a way that has class, and still leaves her characters with dignity and tact, all the while showing how mental illness not only affects the one who has it, but permeates the lives of others bearing witness the slow decline of their loved ones. 


One thing that stood out to me, was that Sheinmel included the suicide hotline number at the end of the book. I strongly recommend this book to every YA and up out there, in place of 13 Reasons Why.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Monday, October 30, 2017

Product Review: Girl's Best Friend by Sweet Vibrations

12:00:00 PM 0 Comments
I purchased this item on October 25, and it reached me on October 30. It only took two days to get to me, since two of those days were the weekend!
I was very satisfied with the shipping time. The box was extremely discreet and came perfectly packaged with not even a scratch or dent on it.

What I liked:
-It's a two in one vibrator. The side with the bristles stimulate oral sex, (it actually feels like a sucking sensation) while the other side functions as a normal vibrator. Use whichever one you like to suit your mood at the time!
-Fast shipping time
-Discreet
-It's rechargeable so you don't have to have batteries, which is a major plus to me. Comes with a USB cord and a wall plug as well. The website says it can work up to six hours on a single charge, but one time around with this bad boy and I am absolutely spent, which never usually happens to me until now!
-It's pink and cute!
-The head comes off for easy cleaning.
-It has a black travel case for carrying it anywhere with you. It's not see through so no one will know you have it with you.
-There are 20 sucking modes, as well as 20 vibrations you can try out.
-It didn't break the bank, you can buy it here for $39.98 with free shipping!
-It's water resistant.
-It's not too heavy, which is perfect for you gals out there who take awhile to get er done. ;)
-It has a life warranty!

What I didn't like:
-The noise. It's pretty loud, so if you're using it while the children are asleep, play some music or something to muffle the vibration noise.

All in all, I am very satisfied with the quality of Girl's Best Friend. It is easily the best vibrator I've ever used.

Zombies: A Record of the Year of Infection: Field Notes by Dr. Robert Twombly by Don Roff

12:08:00 AM 0 Comments

"The year is 2012, and what starts as a pervasive and inexplicable illness ends up as a zombie infestation that devastates the world's population. Taking the form of a biologist's illustrated journal found in the aftermath of the attack, this pulse-pounding, suspenseful tale of zombie apocalypse follows the narrator as he flees from city to countryside and heads north to Canada, where he hopes the undead will be slowed by the colder climate. Encountering scattered humans and scores of the infected along the way, he fills his notebook with graphic drawings of the zombies and careful observations of their behavior, along with terrifying tales of survival. This frightening new contribution to the massively popular zombie resurgence will keep fans on the edge of their seats right up to the very end."

Synopsis taken from Goodreads


Review:
TitleZombies: A Record of the Year of Infection: Field Notes by Dr. Robert Twombly
Author: Don Roff
Illustrator: Chris Lane
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Published: October 14, 2009
Pages: 144
Genre: Comics and graphic novels, zombies, horror

I decided to pick up a zombie book considering it's Halloween tomorrow, and I felt like I needed to read at least one "horror" book before October is out.

It's 2012. The outbreak happened quickly. The dead are alive again. We learn about this through diary entries left behind by a Dr. Robert Twombly, a guy dedicated to taking an accurate account of what he has witnessed since the outbreak.

Although the subject of this story isn't original by any means, I think the gross artwork littered throughout the pages is what makes the story so authentic. The amount of detail that went into creating these illustrations were astounding.

It was a quick read, and the ending was super abrupt. You're left to draw conclusions on what happened. I definitely don't like endings like that, but only because I was left wanting more of what I was reading.

I think this book should be a staple on the bookshelves of people who love zombies everywhere.

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Wires and Nerves by Marissa Meyer

8:45:00 AM 0 Comments

Title: Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerve #1)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Illustrator: Douglas Holgate
Publisher: Fiewel & Friends
Published: Janurary 31, 2017
Pages: 240
Genre: Comics and graphic novels, science fiction, fantasy

Synopsis from Amazon:
In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new,action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold.When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers' leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder, Cress, Scarlet, Winter, and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

Review
:
I loved this graphic novel! I honestly had no desire to read any of the Lunar Chronicle books until I picked this one up and fell in love with every aspect of it. Now I have to go out and search for those books! Even though I didn't read the books prior to this one, I didn't have an issue keeping up considering we get a small recap of what went down before this book.

There are a ton of positive messages throughout this book, littered with some very bad-ass, positive role-models. There is a little bit of violence, but nothing that's too out there for older children to read. A small amount of romance, but it's also kept extremely G-PG.

I loved Iko, and felt very upset she had to deal with so much discrimination in her life based on the fact that she's a "droid." Every feeling she has gets thrown back in her face and saw as "fake" because of her programming software. Despite that, she is fearless, hilarious, and adorable. You can see she cares deeply for her friends and would do anything to protect them. Including hunting some wolf-human hybrids that look like they're on steroids, despite the fact that she's putting herself in harms way. Alpha Steele is the bigges threat out of all the hybrids, he plans on hunting Queen Selene down and forcing her to revert their curse even though she doesn't have the means to do so. He thinks she's lying. He gathers and army, and the rest is to be continued.

I've never been big on Sci-Fi, but this book definitely takes the cake for me. Fast paced and easy to read, not to mention easy on the eyes, it's a book I would recommend to anyone who asks me for a quick but good book to read. The art style is to die for, and it really is the most gorgeous book I've picked up in awhile.

I can't wait until the next one comes out.

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Hostage by Guy Delisle

12:30:00 AM 0 Comments

Title: Hostage
Author: Guy Delisle
Publisher: Drawn and Quarterly
Published: April 25, 2017
Pages: 436
Genre: Graphic novel

Synopsis from Amazon:

How does one survive when all hope is lost?
In the middle of the night in 1997, Doctors Without Borders administrator Christophe André was kidnapped by armed men and taken away to an unknown destination in the Caucasus region. For three months, André was kept handcuffed in solitary confinement, with little to survive on and almost no contact with the outside world. Close to twenty years later, award-winning cartoonist Guy Delisle (PyongyangJerusalemShenzhenBurma Chronicles) recounts André’s harrowing experience in Hostage, a book that attests to the power of one man’s determination in the face of a hopeless situation.
Marking a departure from the author’s celebrated first-person travelogues, Delisle tells the story through the perspective of the titular captive, who strives to keep his mind alert as desperation starts to set in. Working in a pared down style with muted color washes, Delisle conveys the psychological effects of solitary confinement, compelling us to ask ourselves some difficult questions regarding the repercussions of negotiating with kidnappers and what it really means to be free. Thoughtful, intense, and moving, Hostage takes a profound look at what drives our will to survive in the darkest of moments.

Review:
I would say Hostage shows what it's like to be held captive, but that doesn't do it justice. Even though we are reading about what Christophe endured during those months after he was abducted, we won't ever truly understand how miserable yet hopeful he was throughout his harrowing journey.

I know for a fact I could not have handled being tied up to a radiator with only minimal human contact. The hope would be crushed in me, I would have lost my mind. Not Christophe, though. He persevered and remained hopeful, and that's how he saved himself. (Not a spoiler, this is an account taken from Christophe, and put into graphic novel form).

The word that kept coming to mind was misery. How miserable he must have been laying there and only having himself to talk to in his mind. How lonely it would be to have to listen to people who speak a language you know nothing of, and have to wonder what fate has in store for you. How scared he must have been. It truly is a terrifying re-telling of his own story, and one you won't want to put down until you find out exactly what happens and how he escapes. 

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Spill Zone #1 by Scott Westerfeld

7:32:00 AM 0 Comments
Title: Spill Zone
Author: Scott Westerfeld
Illustrator: Alex Puvilland
Publisher: First Second
Published: May 2, 2017
Pages: 224
Genre: Science fiction, fantasy, YA

Synopsis from Amazon:
The first volume of an original graphic novel series from New York Times--bestselling author Scott Westerfeld, illustrated by Alex Puvilland.
Three years ago an event destroyed the small city of Poughkeepsie, forever changing reality within its borders. Uncanny manifestations and lethal dangers now await anyone who enters the Spill Zone.
The Spill claimed Addison’s parents and scarred her little sister, Lexa, who hasn’t spoken since. Addison provides for her sister by photographing the Zone's twisted attractions on illicit midnight rides. Art collectors pay top dollar for these bizarre images, but getting close enough for the perfect shot can mean death—or worse.
When an eccentric collector makes a million-dollar offer, Addison breaks her own hard-learned rules of survival and ventures farther than she has ever dared. Within the Spill Zone, Hell awaits—and it seems to be calling Addison's name.
This title has Common Core connections.

Review:
This book was...phew. I don't even have a strong enough word to describe it. I loved it, most definitely. Not only is the story outright wonderful, driven forward by a strong female lead, but the concept of the whole story is unique as can be.

This book is super easy to get through, but you'll wan to flip through and enjoy the art style Puvilland decided to bless us with time and time again. I felt like I got lost in the Spill Zone, risking my life just like Addison does. Feeling poor little Lexa's heartbreak. I felt like the main characters were my family, or at the very least, my best friends. I almost never get that invested into characters, but I had no problem connecting with any of them throughout the book. Even the police officers were hilarious!

I never felt bored at all, and I just want to keep reading to see what happens. Too bad the next one won't be out until July 10, 2018. I can wait, though. If it means the second is as good as the first!

I wouldn't recommend this book to easily scared Elementary school kids.. I think it's more appropriate to 6th graders and up who can grasp the concepts of this book more. It deals with a rather disturbing plot and can be more than downright creepy at times.

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Product Review: O My!

11:25:00 PM 5 Comments

What is O My?
O My! is a company dedicated to providing you with safe, quality bath and body products made from goat's milk. Their products have no palm oil, paraben, phosphate, phthalate, sulfate and gluten free!

I suggest these products to anyone who has sensitive skin like I do. Knowing that they are hand-crafted with care and dedication to the happiness of their costumers makes me happy as well. Not to mention it's a better alternative than the soaps you find in massive retailers filled with ingredients we have no idea about.

They are also a part of multiple organizations and charities, and each month they pick an organization to donate a percentage of their sales to. A business who cares about their costumers and other organizations is a business I support. All of their products are also 100% American made!

Product Review:
Vanilla Latte lip balm (not pictured): This arrived just in time. I had major chapped lips and used it once before bed. I woke up and my lips aren't puffy or red and inflamed anymore. They actually feel soft with very little dry skin. I was so glad it relived my problem! It also smells wonderful, and made me want to go reach for a vanilla latte.

Raspberry pie lip balm: This lip balm smells like you picked a raspberry straight off the bush and immediately baked into the sweetest smelling pie you could ever make. I have this one on my lips now and I can't stop breathing in to smell it.

Black raspberry vanilla lotion sampler: I absolutely adore the smell of this one. Raspberry and vanilla are two of my most favorite smells and they are wonderful and unique combined together. I always have issues with lotions being a little too greasy for me, and I used too much the first time so it took it awhile to sink into my skin. After that, my hands were left smooth as a baby's bottom!

Zesty Lime soap: This zesty lime soap reminds me of that Irish Springs soap that's green. It smells slightly better than that one, though. I have yet to use it but I keep picking it up off my table to smell it through the package. It just smells so fresh and clean. Will be using this one before I use the oatmeal, milk, and honey soap!

Oatmeal, milk, and honey soap: This one smells amazing as well! I can't wait to dig into it after I use the zesty lime one first. I definitely smell the honey more than any other ingredient and it makes me hungry.

I was absolutely floored by the quality of these products. They all smell and feel amazing and I'll definitely be buying from Oh My! a lot more now. You can find them here:

O My! bath and body products



DISCLAIMER: I received these products in exchange for my truthful and unbiased opinion. All opinions expressed are impartial to the fact that I received the products for free. 

Signs of Hope: Messages from Subway Therapy by Matthew "Levee" Chavez

8:35:00 PM 0 Comments
Title: Signs of Hope: Messages from Subway Therapy
Author: Matthew "Levee" Chavez
Pages: 176

Goodreads Synopsis:

A deeply moving, candid, and inspiring collection of personal missives and color images from the most expressive subway wall in the world, a tribute to the diverse voices of a teeming city.
New Yorkers are never short on opinions, and Matthew "Levee" Chavez observed in early 2016 that given the chance, they wanted to talk. He brought a table and chairs to subway platforms and spoke with anyone keen on conversing. A practiced listener and secret keeper for commuters, Chavez showed up in the subway a day after the presidential election with stacks of brightly colored sticky notes. "Express yourself," he told passersby. The response was electric.
As the colorful squares spread along the tiled wall, a vast mosaic of personal messages took shape, beautiful to behold, rich with personality, cathartic and consoling. Calling himself "Levee"--one who supports the city's emotional tide--Chavez turned a communal underground maze into an ever-changing, ever-growing art space known as Subway Therapy. Thousands have picked up the mantle to create Subway Therapy walls in cities across the nation, including San Francisco, Oakland, Seattle, Boston, and Washington, D.C.
Capturing the feelings leaping from the wonderfully diverse 3-x-3-inch notes and weaving in quotes from Chavez and participants about the project, Signs of Hope's intimate reflections, humorous musings, fond remembrances, and fierce calls to action reach out with unencumbered love to one another and to us. Individually, these "posts" bravely bring the personal and the momentary into the open. Together, they show us a vision of inclusivity, communication, and hope.


Re
view
:
I have never been to New York. In fact, I've barely left my small Indiana town. I've seen the ocean three times on vacation, but always come back to my hometown. We don't have Subways here, we don't even have a bus except for the schools we have here. Nothing like this would ever happen in my town in Indiana. We're a small community, and tight-knit.

The author mentions that New York seems like a lonely place, which may seem weird to us seeing as how the population is so dense. Messages from Subway Therapy shows that there are people filled with hope, people who are scared, people who are there for others. Even if you're alone, you're really not alone. You're surrounded by people who are like-minded, and people who would be there for you if you reached out. No matter how alone or scary this world is, you'll always have someone who's there for you, and someone who will help you.

Throughout this book, there are a million sticky notes with messages of hope, sadness, optimism, even inspiring quotes from Harry Potter. They're colorful, and they show us that out of this cold, hard world, there are people still working on humanity. Sprinkled images of some of the people who visited the wall where Matthew set up his stand are in this book as well. He captures all of the emotions in their faces following the election that happened this past year.

This book really has made a lasting impression on me, and I will be passing it onto my best friend to give her hope as well. I felt all kinds of emotions reading what others took time out of their busy lives to write, hopefully it'll elicit the same response in here. I don't feel so alone anymore.

Thornhill by Pam Smy

5:57:00 AM 0 Comments

Title: Thornhill
Author: Pam Smy
Grade level: 5-9
Pages: 599
Release Date: August 29, 2017

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Parallel stories set in different times, one told in prose and one in pictures, converge as Ella unravels the mystery of the girl next door.
1982: Mary is a lonely orphan at the Thornhill Institute For Children at the very moment that it's shutting its doors. When her few friends are all adopted or re-homed and she's left to face a volatile bully alone, her revenge will have a lasting effect on the bully, on Mary, and on Thornhill itself.
2016: Ella has just moved to a new town where she knows no one. From her room on the top floor of her new home, she has a perfect view of the dilapidated, abandoned Thornhill Institute across the way, where she glimpses a girl in the window. Determined to befriend the girl, Ella resolves to unravel Thornhill's shadowy past. 



Review:
I visited my local library to pick up some graphic novels to take a break from reading heavy books because I was feeling bogged down and not really enjoying any book I picked up. I have a bone to pick with this book, but I loved it at the same time.

Ella is a girl who moved into a house across from an old orphanage called Thornhill. Her story is told in gorgeous black and white illustrations. Mary's story is set in 1982, and told through her diary entries.

Mary was left alone with her tormentor after the orphanage was about to close down. She didn't know who to turn to, or who she could talk to. Most of the time, Mary kept herself locked in her room in the company of the beautiful puppets she was so good at making.

I feel as if this book should be aimed for a teens in their later years, seeing as it made me sad throughout the whole book. It just seems like it's too heavy of a topic for children to be reading to me, since I had such an intense reaction to it.

Ella's story is equally sad considering her mother might be? dead, or absent, and her father spends most of his time out of the house working. She begins a relationship with the mysterious girl she sees next door in the abandoned orphanage.

I hated the ending. That is the only complaint I have. I won't give anything away because that's the big twist, but if you've read it, what are your ideas about WHY that had to happen and it couldn't happen any other way?

It's a quick read, but a large book so it looks daunting until you open it. It's beautifully written and I'll be re-reading it before I take it back to the library.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Product Review: Maple Holistics Sage Shampoo

6:10:00 AM 0 Comments
I haven't done a product review in awhile, but I'll slowly be making some because I have a lot of products to review.

I've always had issues with dandruff. My head would itch so bad I'd end up with scabs because my head was just so irritated by how deep the dead skin went. I've tried a multitude of dandruff shampoos but none of them seemed to work as well as Maple Holistics has. The smell is very dainty and not overwhelming like a lot of the dandruff shampoos I've tried. It's also safe to use on color treated hair, which is a plus for me because I keep my hair dyed usually and the dye comes out with a lot of the shampoos I get.

Another thing I really like about this brand is that they don't test their products on animals. I try to get products that aren't ever tested on animals, so when I saw that this shampoo worked AND they weren't testing them on animals I fell in love.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Gyo, Vol. 1+2 by Junji Ito

9:41:00 AM 0 Comments
 Title: Gyo 1+2
Author/Illustrator: Junji Ito

Synopsis for Gyo, Vol. 1 from Goodreads:
Young couple Tadashi and Kaori are vacationing in Okinawa, but instead of enjoying their time, they bicker endlessly about such important topics as Tadashi's bad breath! But that stench may actually be something quite different. When a strange walking fish appears, Tadashi and Kaori know something's amiss. When a Great White Shark attacks -- walking -- they know they're in real trouble!


Synopsis for Gyo, Vol. 2 from Goodreads:
Tadashi hopes to save the horribly mutated Kaori from a fate worse than death, but the treatment by Doctor Koyanagi may be worse than the disease. This new volume features a struggle between man and machines powered by dead flesh -- will mankind survive?


Review:
I've been trying to get more into manga lately, so I figured I'd go ahead and start with Junji Ito.
His artwork throughout both novels was fascinating. It's all so terrifying to think about. Fish with legs, or being held against your will in order to be the life force of a murderous gas potentially created as a weapon of mass destruction...
It's not a concept you hear about every day, so it definitely held my attention.
Easy to get through as well, which is a plus!

Monday, October 2, 2017

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

10:37:00 PM 2 Comments

Title: Ready Player One
Author: Ernest Cline
Pages: 372
Rating: 5/5

Synopsis from Goodreads:
It's the year 2044, and the real world is an ugly place.
Like most of humanity, Wade Watts escapes his grim surroundings by spending his waking hours jacked into the OASIS, a sprawling virtual utopia that lets you be anything you want to be, a place where you can live and play and fall in love on any of ten thousand planets. 
And like most of humanity, Wade dreams of being the one to discover the ultimate lottery ticket that lies concealed within this virtual world. For somewhere inside this giant networked playground, OASIS creator James Halliday has hidden a series of fiendish puzzles that will yield massive fortune — and remarkable power — to whoever can unlock them. 
For years, millions have struggled fruitlessly to attain this prize, knowing only that Halliday's riddles are based in the pop culture he loved — that of the late twentieth century. And for years, millions have found in this quest another means of escape, retreating into happy, obsessive study of Halliday's icons. Like many of his contemporaries, Wade is as comfortable debating the finer points of John Hughes's oeuvre, playing Pac-Man, or reciting Devo lyrics as he is scrounging power to run his OASIS rig. 
And then Wade stumbles upon the first puzzle. 
Suddenly the whole world is watching, and thousands of competitors join the hunt — among them certain powerful players who are willing to commit very real murder to beat Wade to this prize. Now the only way for Wade to survive and preserve everything he knows is to win. But to do so, he may have to leave behind his oh-so-perfect virtual existence and face up to life — and love — in the real world he's always been so desperate to escape. 
A world at stake. A quest for the ultimate prize. Are you ready?


Revie
w
:
This novel is set in a futuristic world filled with bleakness and depression. In order to escape from all of this, the OASIS was made. You could be or do anything you wanted in the OASIS. Of course, there are bad guys who want to take all of that and turn it for a profit. This is where our main character Wade comes in. He's set out on a mission to solve the puzzles James Halliday has left behind hidden in his best game ever made: the OASIS.
With the help of a few friends and a love interest, he's in a race against time to solve these puzzles before the bad guys do.

I really loved the pop culture references made within this book. It added so many movies to my to-watch list I'll probably never get through them all. I also added a crap ton of video game knowledge to my brain, just in case I'll ever need to use it. Even though I probably won't, it was still cool to learn about the first video game ever made, and then the ones following that. If you were born in the 80s, have a fascination with the 80s, or just love video games in general, this is not a book you want to miss.
It has murder, it has a witty and funny main character with lovable supporting characters, and mystery with little bits of pop culture facts sprinkled throughout the whole book. 5/5 would recommend to anyone!