Friday, December 29, 2017

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier

29 December 0 Comments

Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake - and her own.

(Snyopsis from Goodreads)


Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier
Publisher:
Graphix (September 13, 2016)
Pages: 256
Genre: Growing up, facts of life

I liked this book a lot! I think it would be a great tool for teaching children about Dias Los Muertos. My favorite part were how adorable the ghosts were drawn!
Heartfelt and fun, it's an easy book to get through in one sitting. All of the characters are absolutely lovable, and I can relate to Catrina's anxiety about certain things which made her a really interesting person to read about.


Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Bad Call by Stephen Wallenfels + BookishFirst!

27 December 0 Comments
"They walk side by side through shin-deep snow, dragging branches for their shelter behind them. The footprints they made on the way out are little more than small depressions in the drifts of swirling white. It's as if the wind has a single intent - to wipe out any traces of them."

(First paragraph of Bad Call by Stephen Wallenfels)

Bad Call by Stephen Wallenfels
Publisher: Hyperion
Expected date: 12/19/2018
Genre: Thrillers and suspense
Pages: 320

This is the first book I've received from BOOKishFIRST! All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.
If you don't know what BOOKishFirst is, you can click through to explore it more, I highly recommend this website to anyone who likes books, and to anyone who loves to review them as well!

Review:
I don't read very many survival stories. I prefer to read about other things, but when I do pick up this genre, a book like this is exactly what I'm looking for.
Wallenfels delivered an extremely strange, edge-of-your-seat thriller. The tension build-up in this book was out of this world. You could literally feel the testosterone between the five boys.

Five friends: Colin, Ceo, Grahame, and Ellie go on a hiking trip. When the trail they planned to take literally went up in smoke during a forest fire, they decide to take another trail. The Snow Creek Falls trail.
A snowstorm comes up out of nowhere. Under-dressed and severely under-packed, the group tries to figure out how to make it off the trail still safe an alive. With the threat of a sneak bear attack, and Ceo's attitude at an all time high, tensions quickly rise between the group.
When they all split up and one of them doesn't make it back to the tent, they try to piece back together the events that happened all while trying to maintain their lives in the blistering cold.
It's 320 pages but I finished this book in almost a day because of the short chapters and the riveting cliff-hangers. I loved this book!

Monday, December 25, 2017

Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz

25 December 1 Comments
"The stall door won't shut all the way.
What the hell kind of bathroom doors does our school have?
The kind with crooked doors that don't always latch. The kind you don't want to get caught in. Not with your head above the toilet. Not when you're kneeling on the floor, puking your guts out. Not with a fifth of vodka - which I desperately need right now."

(Beginning of Someone to Love. Quotes may be subject to change based on final copy of the book when it's published).

Someone to Love by Melissa de la Cruz
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Expected date to be published: January 2nd, 2018
Genre: Contemporary
Pages: 400

Trigger Warning: Self-harm, eating disorders

I'm not really big into contemporary, but this book was a welcome surprise. I received it in the mail, let it sit on my counter for a few days so I could finish another book, then picked this one up.
At first I really thought I wasn't going to be able to get into it. It seemed so cliche, the main character, Liv, seemed too shallow.
Fast-forward to a couple hours later: still in the same spot, still in the same position on the couch. Devouring this book.

While I'm aware of eating disorders, I know I'm not knowledgeable enough to speak on them. Cruz invited me into a whole new and horrifying world of bulimia, and left me with more knowledge than I had before reading.
It hurts me to know there are people out there suffering with this. It hurts me even more to know that I can't be there to help everyone, and that people fall victim to this horrible disease every day thinking that they're all alone in this world. This world is heavy and painful, and I wish it were a softer place for everyone so no one would have to deal with these things in their lives.

I really like the theme of Olivia being an artist in her tightly-wound political family. The opening to the chapters included inspirational quotes by famous painters like Gogh or Kahlo. The chapters are short and easy to get through, so it spurs you on from one to the other.

I feel like this is a book I should share with people who have really self-deprecating thoughts or mental illnesses, as it was a story of hope and wisdom to me that I really, thoroughly enjoyed.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

The Hollow Girl by Hillary Monahan

25 December 1 Comments
Five boys attacked her.
Now they must repay her with their blood and flesh.
Bethan is the apprentice to a green healer named Drina in a clan of Welsh Romanies. Her life is happy and ordered and modest, as required by Roma custom, except for one thing: Silas, the son of the chieftain, has been secretly harassing her.
One night, Silas and his friends brutally assault Bethan and a half-Roma friend, Martyn. As empty and hopeless as she feels from the attack, she asks Drina to bring Martyn back from death’s door. “There is always a price for this kind of magic,” Drina warns. The way to save him is gruesome. Bethan must collect grisly pieces to fuel the spell: an ear, some hair, an eye, a nose, and fingers.
She gives the boys who assaulted her a chance to come forward and apologize. And when they don’t, she knows exactly where to collect her ingredients to save Martyn.




Review:
 TW: Rape
There are only two book I've read this year that I think will fully stick with me, and Monahan's The Hollow Girl is one of them.

Bethan is a Romani girl who is brutally attacked on her way home from the marketplace by five boys. As if that weren't bad enough, the boy who tried to help her (and has a soft spot for) gets killed. In order to save the boy, she has to extract something from each of the boys to make up the five senses in order to fully restore him to his former self.

Books that deal with rape rarely show just how truly horrifying it can be for someone to endure. Monahan seems to know exactly how to bring this to light and manages to hit the nail on the head with the amount of detail and horror she describes it with, while still managing to keep it off stage. It is a devastating blow to Bethan, and a learning experience to us all.

This is a cast of characters I know will be one of my favorites for years to come. The grumpy old grandma who's terror and reputation goes unmatched. The strong-willed Bethan who finds who she really is through a horrible experience. A soft-spoken boy who really enjoys the company of the unusual girl next door to his market stall, Martyn. Even the five boys she is sent to collect from. Each assaulter left an impression on me that would be hard to forget.

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Smoke by Dan Vyleta

09 December 0 Comments
An England where people who are wicked in thought or deed are marked by the Smoke that pours forth from their bodies, a sign of their fallen state. The aristocracy do not smoke, proof of their virtue and right to rule, while the lower classes are drenched in sin and soot. An England utterly strange and utterly real.
 An elite boarding school where the sons of the wealthy are groomed to take power as their birthright. Teachers with mysterious ties to warring political factions at the highest levels of government.  Three young people who learn everything they’ve been taught is a lie – knowledge that could cost them their lives. A grand estate where secrets lurk in attic rooms and hidden laboratories. A love triangle. A desperate chase. Revolutionaries and secret police. Religious fanatics and coldhearted scientists. Murder. A London filled with danger and wonder. A tortured relationship between a mother and a daughter, and a mother and a son. Unexpected villains and unexpected heroes. Cool reason versus passion. Rich versus poor. Right versus wrong, though which is which isn’t clear.

(Synopsis from Goodreads)



Title: Smoke
Author: Dan Vyleta
Pages: 423 
Source: Paperback advance reading copy
Genre: Science fiction, fantasy, historical

I really can't quite tell if I liked this book, or if I hated it. It's a mixture of sci-fi and alternate history which are two very strange genres to mix together IMHO. 

The beginning was really good. Imagine a world where you began to billow smoke out of your being whenever you felt intense emotions. All of your deep feelings on display for the world to see. 

The ending, or rather the last 200 pages dragged horribly on for me. It was dull, but at the same time I wanted to finish the book because it was such a strange one for me I felt like I needed to see it through to the end.

There was a lot of bouncing around of view points during every chapter, which kind of made it hard to follow what was going on, but I think I managed to keep things in order. I find myself liking the ending a lot better than the beginning or the middle.

I give this book props for thinking up a topic no one else has written about that I know of, so hats off to creativity and imagination. Took me about two weeks to get through because I had to take it in in small doses. 

2/5

DISCLAIMER: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Gillette Venus Swirl

09 December 0 Comments
Disclaimer: I received this product free for an honest and unbiased review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.
 I have been using a cheap $1 razor for the past few months because I've been too lazy to go out and look for a razor that I might like. I decided to sign up for Influenster and I somehow landed a VoxBox in no time. It saved me a trip to the store, which I am more thank thankful for.


Gillette Venus Swirl is purple with a cute design on it. It also includes a FLEXIBALL meant to help the razor contour to everyone's individual curves for a smooth and flawless shave. The first razor with a FLEXIBALL!
It has 5 blades that are very, very sharp. I had been used to using my cheap razor I forgot how easy it is to cut yourself on good razors! It also has a serum on the razor that is moisture-activated that helps it glide smoothly. Unscented as well.

Gillette Venus Swirl is recommended for people who have normal skin, if you have dry skin you can check this razor for an alternate product from the same company.

I don't recommend putting the razor face down on anything because it will ruin the moisture-activated film on the head of the razor, so it should be put down face up or in a dish without the head touching anything.

I got no razor burn with this which was a relief! And whatever the moisture-activated film is made out of didn't break my sensitive skin out, and that really surprised me.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Pink B.O.B - Rippled Silicone Vibrator

06 December 1 Comments

The Pink B.O.B. Rippled Silicone Vibrator is a whole new sensation for me! It's made out of silicone, so it feels smooth for a sexier feeling, but still firm enough to keep it on the right spot. The tip of it does have a little give, but I like that because I can't have something hard pressing into me or else it begins to feel uncomfortable. I never once felt uncomfortable using this vibrator. It was fun from the moment I turned it on to the moments after I was basking in the after-glow.

The angle of the end of the vibrator is perfect for stimulating the G-spot. The ripples of the vibrator also create a feeling I haven't felt before in the best way possible. 

With 10 different settings, there's a setting for everyone. This vibrator is perfect for people who don't need something too big (beginners), but still want a good amount of vibrations with not too big of a toy for penetration. The firmness of the ridges while it goes in and out creates a mind-blowing experience I don't ever want to come back from! I prefer toys with girth, but this toy is still a favorite of mine because it more than gets the job done.

It's firm enough to use as both a vaginal insert, just a normal vibrator, or if you're into it, anal. It won't pop out if you're a beginner due to the ridges and the firmness.

You do need your own 2 AAA batteries. I'm glad I read that I had to keep the piece of paper inside of the toy for it to work properly, because I was about to take it out and I would have been super sad had I not read that before using.

You can use water-based lubricant on this vibrator safely. It's also quiet enough to use in your bedroom without music or other background noise on if you live with someone else but the paper does need to stay on considering that's what keeps your vibrator quiet. The vibrations have both strong and soft settings for people who like one or the other, or even both for different times during the play session.
 It is not water-proof so a damp washrag with whatever you use to clean your other toys with will do.

It's a pretty pinkish/purple color, and super soft to the touch while maintaining the rigidity perfect for this specific toy. It looks a little flimsy when you connect the top half to the bottom, but I've used it every day since I received the product and have not had an issue with it breaking so far.

I love the fact that it's a good size to take apart and take with you on a trip secretly as opposed to other toys that may be longer.

Pros:
-Quiet and discreet
-Cute
-Perfect for beginners
-10 different settings so there's a setting or two, or all, for everyone
-Use for inside and outside, and can be used to anal

Things I'd change:
-The girth
-The length

This is only because I'm a seasoned toy collector! I loved the vibrator regardless of the girth or the length of it, but bigger for me would have been the icing on the cake!

Disclaimer: I received this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

CalExotics Scandal Chair Restraint

29 November 0 Comments

Bondage is something I've been slowly getting into over the past few months. I've always been a person who has a phobia of being held down. I took the plunge and finally tried the experience with CalExotics Scandal Chair Restraint.

These are absolutely gorgeous. They have a very soft, velvety feel which made me feel better about my experience because I wasn't at all uncomfortable with the feel of the product. The black and red are deep and rich, which sets the sensual mood and makes you feel super sexy. Not only are they beautiful, but they're long as well! I have a full sized bed, but these would definitely fit a Queen easily. Perfect for tying to chairs, wrists to ankles, wrists to the bottom of the bed, or the top of the bed post. You could come up with a ton of things to do with these, and I guarantee they'd get the job done, and done well.
They're also very strong and durable. I tugged on them a few times and they didn't budge. Double stitching will do that. I had just a small issue learning how to do the D rings as I've never dealt with them before, but it was easy to figure out after a few moments so it wasn't a downside to this product at all. Since these don't come with chains or clips they won't wear out or break on you, which definitely makes it a quality item in my eyes.

The packaging was discreet, you couldn't tell what it was from the outside. So shipping this item directly to your home if you live with someone else won't be an issue.

They came inside of two separate plastic bags inside of the box pictured above, but the bags didn't leave a bad smell on them so we used them without having to hand wash them due to an overwhelming smell like a lot of products you get that come in plastic bags. I could do without them coming in plastic bags because I'm a "green-ie", but that's definitely only a small downside to a rather enjoyable time and I understand companies have to keep things looking pretty for when they arrive to you, so I'm willing to over-look this due to all of the positives that came out of this.

All in all I really liked these. A perfect beginning to my bondage experience. They're soft to the touch, which put me in the mood to begin with. But not being able to get out of the positions I was put in sent me into over-drive. This definitely spices things up in the bedroom and will always come highly recommended from me.

Disclaimer: I was sent this product in exchange for an honest review, all opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Sunday, November 26, 2017

Oral Ecstasy Deep Throat Spray

26 November 0 Comments

Are you low-key freaky and wanna please your man even more so than you already do, but have a god-awful gag reflex? I swear this product is perfect for you.

I usually have a very big issue with throat desensitizing products because they all just taste flat out disgusting  in my opinion. The taste of this one is mint and it tastes like any normal minty gum you'd get at the store. The bottle says spray lightly then wait at least 10 minutes. You can feel the numbness start working as soon as you spray it, though.

I've never had a major gag reflex, but in some positions it's impossible not to. I sprayed this in and had my man assume a position I'm usually not comfortable with and I could please him with no issues finally! It lasts a decently long time, as well! Anything that makes me more comfortable while I'm in the mood is an instant favorite!

This spray definitely spiced up my sex life in a whole new way! He enjoys it and I'm also extremely happy with this.

Disclaimer: I was sent this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Monday, November 20, 2017

Lily Farm Fresh Skin Care

20 November 0 Comments

Lily Farm Fresh is an organic skin care line. The products are made in a USDA certified organic lab!
I was lucky enough to be able to try out these products. Read on to see my thoughts!

Balancing Seaweed Facial Cleanser - This product is made out of essential oils and organic seaweed. If you have oily or a combination skin type this product is for you. Tea tree oil is an ingredient in this which makes it also great on acne prone skin types.
It made my normally dry/combination skin feel amazingly smooth. I couldn't stop rubbing on my face.
You also don't have to use a huge dollop of this to cover your face, as a small amount goes a long way regarding this. 

Rejuvenating Enzyme Mask -  I love this product because it's made with honey, which is good for moisturizing and drawing bacteria away from the skin.
I don't have an issue with saggy skin yet, but I did notice that it made my face a teeeensy bit tighter, which I definitely liked after I got used to it. It's also a very good softening product as well. It also didn't irritate my skin at all.

Oil-free Skin Conditioning Mask - This is perfect for people who have issues with oily skin. I just had a problem with the smell, but it can be dealt with from the benefits of this product.

Balancing Facial Toner - This has never dried my skin out. I also love that aloe vera is in it.

Balancing facial lotion - I have an issue with lotions being too thick for me, and this was the perfect remedy. Goes on smooth, and doesn't leave a weird feel on your skin.

Disclaimer: I received these products in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Friday, November 17, 2017

Plaine Products: Friendliest care products in the world.

17 November 0 Comments

What is Plaine Products?

Plaine Products is a shampoo, conditioner, and body wash company who sell these products that are good for the environment. They have a recycling system that the earth benefits from.

The bottles are refillable, so once you start running out of your shampoo, conditioner, or body wash you can order a refill for it!
You can take the refill lid off the new bottle, put your empty bottle in the box, and ship it back at no cost to you!

Single use plastics are a big issue in this world, and this is a good idea to help combat that.

Review:

I actually quite liked these products. The shampoo and conditioner made my hair feel silky smooth. My only downside is the fact that I have oily hair. My hair got oily one day after using this, as opposed to other hair products I use. 

I do believe the message behind this is quite good, and they all smell so good in my opinion. The combination of rosemary, mint, and vanilla is perfect for setting the mood for Christmas!

DISCLAIMER: I was sent these products in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Friday, November 10, 2017

The Eternity Elixir by Frank L. Cole

10 November 28 Comments

Twelve-year-old Gordy Stitser is one of the few people who knows the truth about the secret society of potion masters, because not only is Gordy’s mom on the Board of Ruling Elixirists Worldwide (B.R.E.W.), but she has also been training Gordy in the art of potion-making. 

Gordy is a natural, and every day he sneaks down to the basement lab to invent new potions using exotic ingredients like fire ant eggs, porcupine quills, and Bosnian tickling juice.
One afternoon, Gordy receives a mysterious package containing an extremely rare potion known as “The Eternity Elixir.” In the right hands, the Elixir continues to protect society. But in the wrong hands, it could destroy the world as we know it.  
Now, sinister potion masters are on the hunt to steal the Eternity Elixir. It’s up to Gordy, his parents, and his best friends, Max and Adeline, to prevent an all-out potion war.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: The Eternity Elixir (The Potion Masters #1)
Author: Frank L. Cole
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Published: January 2, 2018
Pages: 272
Genre: Fantasy & Magic, children's books

I've never read the magic that is Frank L. Cole until Shadow Mountain sent me an ARC to review. I decided to take a break from reading more serious books and sat down with a middle-grade novel that was much more than what I imagined it to be.

We follow Gordy, a gifted Elixirist, his friends and his family on a ride filled with evil Elixirists in a race to get a mysterious potion everyone seems to want to get their hands on. 

Gordy is a level-headed young boy who seems to make decisions far more adult-like than I see in a lot of real life children. I think he would be a good role model for middle school youngsters. Max is his faithful and hyper-active sidekick, and Adeline is a secret baddie who helps more than she gives herself credit for. She's also the one who keeps the two boys in check. Ever since I read Harry Potter, I was a fan of the "two trouble maker boys and a mother figure girl who keeps them in check" trope, and these three characters definitely deliver.

 Where this book lacks in world building, it makes up for by packing in the adventure and funny dialogue with a more than intriguing plot and a variety of different characters all unique in their own ways! I can't wait until Potion Masters #2 comes out, whenever that may be!

DISCLAIMER: I received this book in exchange for an honest opinion. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Product Review: Frisky Throbbin Hopper Vibrating Cock & Ball Ring Review

08 November 0 Comments

This is my second go around with a TooTimid product, and look how cute it is! It's a vibrant purple, with cute little bunny ears that vibrates with an intensity that couples will love. (If you like high intensity, that is).

Physical Details:
-Purple
-Stretchy silicone rings to fit perfectly over the goodies
-A high intensity vibrator
-A bunny sleeve with ears to give the receiver some extra pleasure 
-Soft to the touch
-A rabbit nose nub to touch the perfect spot
-Comes with 3 LR44 batteries
-The bullet is plastic and removable 
-Non-porous 
-Hypoallergenic 
-Phthalate-free (info on phthalates here)

Experience:
I really wanted to like this! It's so cute, and my this was my boyfriend's first toy he's ever had. He liked it quite a bit. The intense vibrations gave him a new experience he's never felt before. It also fit snug and comfortable around his package when he wanted to work, but sometimes the ring that fits around the balls slipped so there was a lot of readjusting we had to do.

My body is very hard to please at times. Things have to be positioned in the perfect spot or I get nothing from it. Mostly I kept trying to move it into the spot it needed to go and had to focus on that the whole time instead of enjoying myself. This toy wasn't for me with the actual bunny sleeve, but the removable bullet was great to use anyway.
So even if it's not for me, it could be right for you! I do love the ears and how they vibrate, but I have to sit still in order to enjoy them and when you're trying to have fun in the bedroom sitting still isn't on the menu for the night.

Disclaimer: I was sent this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

The Little Match Girl by Hans Christian Andersen

07 November 18 Comments

The classic children's story The Little Match Girl, by Hans Christian Andersen, is retold for a Christmas audience as part of the annual Christmas concert series hosted by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

This beautifully illustrated edition shares the story of a young girl who attempts to sell her last bundle of matches on Christmas Eve. As the snow falls and the crowds pass her by, she strikes one of her matches, hoping for a little warmth. In its flame, she sees a vision of a roaring fire in a hot stove. The match goes out, taking the vision with it. A second match conjures a vision of a vast dining room complete with a feast fit for a king. The third match reveals a towering Christmas tree. With only a few matches left, she strikes them all and sees a vision of her beloved grandmother. Only this time, it is more than a vision as the spirit of grandmother takes the little match girl with her into heaven.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: The Little Match Girl
Author: Hans Christian Andersen
Retold by: David Warner
Paintings by: Greg Newbold
Published: 10/17/17
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Pages: 32
Genre: Classics

I remember reading plucking this off of the bookshelf in the library when I was in Elementary school, and sitting there reading it and just being completely inconsolable because it was just so sad. Now that I'm older, I see the moral behind the story. It highlights hope and trust in God despite any situation you're in, no matter how hopeless it may seem.

The incredible paintings by Newbold will make you feel the scenes. The cold nips at your fingertips. You go through the hopelessness with the little girl. Gorgeously drawn, I believe this is the best adaption of The Little Match Girl I've ever read.

Not only is it a good Christmas story, it also highlights the way things were back in the 19th century so it could also be used as learning material in a history class.


Sunday, November 5, 2017

The Mindful Way to a Good Night's Sleep by Tzivia Gover

05 November 30 Comments

This accessible guide to cultivating deep, restful sleep — naturally — combines author Tzivia Gover’s expertise in both mindfulness and dreamwork. Accompanied by a healthy dose of encouragement, Gover presents practical lifestyle advice, simple yoga poses, 10-minute meditations, and easy breathing exercises, along with visualization and journaling activities. You’ll also learn how to cultivate your dream recall and set the scene for safe, productive dreaming. This holistic approach extends into your waking hours with tips on morning routines to ensure that sound sleep leads to refreshed, more conscious living all day long. 

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: The Mindful Way to a Good Night's Sleep
Author: Tzivia Gover
Publisher: Storey Publishing
Published: 12/12/17
Pages: 184
Genre: Non-fiction

Since I was a little girl, bed time was when my anxiety went through the roof. I recall having non-stop bad dreams about my family members dying or their heads floating because they detached themselves from their bodies. Once a snake even ate all of my Christmas presents and my family sat 
there and laughed at me! You can see why I didn't exactly like sleeping as a child.

In response to that, I developed a myriad of mental illnesses, and in response to that...I decided that the most healthy thing for me to do was stay awake as much as I could. At least until I wore myself out so much I didn't even have to bother with bad dreams because I'd be too exhausted to remember them.

Now at 22, I can say sleep and I have a better understanding of one another. I still have nightmares, but I can deal with them better now. Occasionally. I won this book from a Shelf Awareness contest, and when I got it I immediately dived into it.

Gover incorporates a ton of tips for getting a good night's sleep into her book. She asks her readers questions that makes us think back to our dreams, and what they could mean for us. Her philosophy is that no matter how bad a dream may seem, there is always room for growth from them. Which makes sense! Obviously nightmares are manifesting from what we're dealing with in our every day lives, Gover just helps us along to figure out exactly what is going awry and gives us different ways to look at things in order to set our daily lives back on track.

The set up of the chapters and the incorporation of quotes about sleep are helpful in keeping the book light-hearted. It even propels you along so you're not sitting there re-reading a non-fiction book sentence three times over because that speficic line isn't sticking with you. Gover definitely has a way with words, and conjures up your past dreams to help you figure out what they mean.

In the back is even a mini dream journal to get you started on your journey. After reading this, I wrote a Facebook post to my friends simply asking, "What was the last dream you had?" I got an insane amount of responses, and I think it was also fun for everyone else to read about other people's dreams while getting feedback on their own.

Definitely a 10/10 book. Recommended for people who are into dreams, dream interpretation, or simply just want to start paying more attention to what their bodies and minds are telling them.

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Archie, Vol. 1: The New Riverdale

04 November 0 Comments

America’s Favorite Teenager, Archie Andrews, is reborn in the pages of this must-have graphic novel collecting the first six issues of the comic book series that everyone is talking about. Meet Riverdale High teen Archie, his oddball, food-loving best friend Jughead, girl-next-door Betty and well-to-do snob Veronica Lodge as they embark on a modern reimagining of the beloved Archie world. It’s all here: the love triangle, friendship, humor, charm and lots of fun – but with a decidedly modern twist.

Brought to you by some of the masters of the comic book genre, including writer Mark Waid and the all-star lineup of artists: Fiona Staples, Annie Wu and Veronica Fish, the first volume of ARCHIE presents readers with a new take on the beloved Archie Comics concepts while retaining the best elements from the company’s 75 years of history. ARCHIE VOL. 1 collects ARCHIE #1-6 and features bonus content including scripts, sketches, variant covers and the full first issue of the all new JUGHEAD series by acclaimed writer Chip Zdarsky and artist Erica Henderson.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Title: Archie, Vol. 1: The New Riverdale
Author: Mark Waid
Illustrator: Fiona Staples, Annie Wu, Veronica Fish
Publisher: Archie Comics
Published: March 29, 2016
Pages: 176
Genre: Comics and Graphic Novels

I was a big Archie comic lover growing up. I had a new issue in my hands every Friday after my dad got off work. He would go to Wal-Mart, pick it up, then deliver it to me where I'd be waiting with my hands out and a big smile plastered on my face. I was addicted. I even went to old thrift stores and sale barns to find the super old ones that costed like 25 cents. Archie was a staple in my life, and I look back on them in fondness. 

When I found out Archie was getting a modern update, I was hesitant. I felt like nothing could compare to my old Archie. I'm glad I took the leap to read this one, though, because I felt that nostalgia all over again when I picked this volume up. 

I love how in the intro Fiona Staples made her opinion on Archie very clear, and that they were so respectful with how they rebooted the stories and characters. I don't think this job could have been handed to a better group of people than it was.

The characters ended up having a lot more depth to them, which I loved. The love triangle (which was always super weird to me growing up) makes sense to me now. I always loved Jughead, but he's so much more a part of my heart now that he has more involvement in the comics rather than him just being Archie's best friend.

The look of the book is so much more amazing now too. The colors are vivid, the characters stand out more. There's just so much to see without it being overwhelming. The art style definitely draws you in so much that you want to examine every part of it before you turn the page.

I definitely recommend anyone who loved Archie when they were younger to pick this up and read it, and even if the comics weren't a major part of your life, there's more of a chance than there's not that you'll like the book too!

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

04 November 0 Comments

Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales. 

Wealthy cannibals who dine on the discarded limbs of peculiars. A fork-tongued princess. The origins of the first ymbryne. These are but a few of the truly brilliant stories in Tales of the Peculiar—known to hide information about the peculiar world—first introduced by Ransom Riggs in his Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.
Riggs now invites you to share his secrets of peculiar history, with a collection of original stories, as collected and annotated by Millard Nullings, ward of Miss Peregrine and scholar of all things peculiar.



(Synopsis from Goodreads)
Title: Tales of the Peculiar (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children 0.5)
Author: Ransom Riggs
Illustrator: Andrew Davidson
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers
Published: September 3, 2016
Pages: 192
Genre: Fantasy

As if I didn't love Rigg's books already, here he is with a collection of short stories told as folklore set in the world of Peculiars. These short stories are told to us by none other than Millard Nullings, the invisible boy who we were introduced to in the Miss Peregrine books.
Each one of these stories is a look back in history of some peculiar lives. I adored a couple of these stories, but all of them were good. A few of my favorites were "The First Ymbryne", which tells us how the Ymbryne's came to be, and "Cocobolo", a tale about a man named Zheng and his avoidance on becoming just like his father until he is plagued by the same issues his father had before he disappeared.

I appreciated the creepiness of some of these stories, because they're told with no-holds-barred and a matter-of-fact attitude. I would think this book is a great introduction into the books if you haven't read them yet, just to get you familiar with the Peculiar world and its history.

The artwork is an absolute dream, and I loved every single photo in it. They were all so intricate all I could do is stare and devour every inch of the page when I turned to one that had photos on it. Davidson definitely has talent, and he uses it well.

Sunlight Burning at Midnight by Jess Ronne

04 November 0 Comments

"Starting out in life as a young wife and mother, you never imagine the ways your hopes and dreams might be completely shattered. For Jessica and her husband Jason, a series of unrelenting heartbreaks struck, beginning with their baby's diagnosis with a life-changing disability. Just a few short years later, thirty-three-year old Jason lay in a hospital bed, battling a Glioblastoma brain tumor. And within the span of six years of marriage, Jessica became a widow left alone to care for their four young children, including one with special needs. But the story doesn't end there. In the midst of storm after storm, Jessica stubbornly clung to God, and she found him to be faithful. Enter Ryan Ronne, a young widower and father of three. Ryan had also lost his spouse to brain cancer-in fact, around the same time Jessica's husband, Jason, had succumbed to the disease. Just as the idea of sunlight burning at midnight sounds impossible, so it seemed unlikely anything beautiful could arise from their devastation. But a new love story emerged, along with a combined family that now numbers eight children. As featured on the Today Show, theirs is an inspiring and encouraging story of faith. Here, Jessica Ronne tells her riveting story of finding hope amid havoc, and of the surprising ways that pain often commingles with joy."


I received an e-mail to join a launch party for this book. I quickly skimmed the synopsis and said I would give it a try. I devoured this book in two days. It would have been less, had it not been so emotionally taxing. 
Jess Ronne is a mother who has been through it. From worrying her child wasn't going to make it, to losing her husband at the ripe age of 33, she is no stranger to grief. She made it through with her faith in God to guide her.
I must admit I'm the first person to throw books about faith away, I'm too angry and confused over a few things to be fully accepting of God right now, but reading these books make me feel a little better. Only slightly a bit jealous, because I know it takes a brave person to hold onto faith in trying times. I never once wanted to put this book down, though. I never felt as if Jess was shoving her faith down my throat, but simply showing how God helped her through two of her hardest moments throughout life.
"I realize now that I use anger to express every other emotion I was feeling. Anger was safe. Anger clouded the pain, the anguish, the tears. Anger was something that could be directed at someone or something."

Through the whole book, that sentence was the one that resonated with me. I do too, Jess. One day I hope I'll be able to find faith, or something else to cling to that helps me get over that. I can only aspire to one day be as faithful as Jess is to God. I was in awe of her strength, and her ability to admit when things were less than okay. This book will stick with me for the rest of my life. I loved it.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest, unbiased view. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Friday, November 3, 2017

Product Review: Hydrive Energy Water

03 November 0 Comments

Okay, to start off, I was pretty iffy about these drinks. Caffeine doesn't do anything for me. Energy drinks are pretty much a no go. Too expensive with little to no results. I reached out to Hydrive to get a feel for other products on the market that might induce at least some results to my liking. Hydrive did that for me, and went beyond what I expect.

I am usually not a black cherry kind of person, I would go as far as saying it's my least favorite flavor out of anything. The Black Cherry tasted like literal cherries, but better. My favorite was the Blue Raspberry, but I would drink any flavor of these if they were handed to be without hesitation. I didn't hate a single flavor that was sent to me at all, which is super surprising since I'm picky when it comes to what I drink.

Hydrive uses citric acid and natural flavors to sweeten their drinks, and in turn makes it healthier than leading brands of energy water. Mix in Vitamin B, which is proven to have an effect on your energy levels. And it does its job well. I have a new favorite energy drink I'll be buying from now on, and I urge anyone seeking a healthy alternative to try this and see how well it works on you.

I'm on a night shift schedule. I woke up at 3am one day, stayed awake until 24 hours later and still didn't feel exhausted even though I had been running around and laughing like a maniac with my friends. Definitely good for people who works nights, or just need an extra boost throughout the day!

So what exactly is Hydrive?

Hydrive Energy Water is made to keep you healthy and hydrated, while giving you a little extra pep in your step. With no calories or sugar, and great flavors like Citrus Burst, Black Cherry, Blue Raspeberry, or Triple Berry, there's a flavor for everyone!


Thursday, November 2, 2017

Product Review: Rabbit Teaser Bullet Vibe

02 November 0 Comments


I initially e-mailed TooTimid to see if they had any products for me to review. After a few e-mails back and forth with the wonderful Bethany, I had decided on two toys to try. One for me, and one for my boyfriend to use with me. This review is over the Luxe rabbit teaser.

First off, what is TooTimid?

TooTimid was founded in 2000 as a way to buy items some people may be "too timid" to go into a store and buy toys or other products. They provide women and men alike with top quality products that are shipped fast and discreetly. No more awkward small talk with the cashier at the store while he or she is ringing up your purchases.

Physical Deets

The rabbit teaser is a sleeve over a small bullet vibrator in the shape of a rabbit. I got pink, which is coincidentally my favorite color. The sleeve is made out of 100% silicon which is amazing because silicon is non-porous, and in turn means they don't harbor any dirt or bacteria. This doesn't mean you don't have to clean your silicon toys, though! Always stay safe and make sure you properly clean your toys to maximize your fun time. 

Since this toy is made out of silicon, it also means it's super soft to the touch. The nub of the rabbit's nose is a little harder than anywhere else on the vibrator. Perfect for clitoral stimulation.
The cord attached to it is 2 feet long, so you can lay it beside you or keep it in your hand for something to hang onto for the ride!
There are three different settings on the dial, the highest being my favorite. It's not extremely overwhelming, but just the perfect amount for me.

Two AA batteries are needed as they are not included with the toy.
It's not loud at all, so it's an item I'd recommend for someone who lives with paper thin walls, or for someone who just doesn't like to be distracted by the sound of their sex toys.
The plastic feels a tad flimsy, but I assure you it gets the job done, and you're not messing with the plastic part for anything else other than to inset batteries and change the vibrator's settings.
At just $19.95, I feel like you really can't beat this cute, powerful toy.

Click to buy it here, if ya want!

My Experience

This was my first time using a rabbit, and I was not disappointed in the slightest. When I got it, I noticed that the packaging was extremely discreet. That's a plus for me considering I live in an apartment complex and don't want my neighbors seeing the contents of the packages I'm receiving. 
When I had extra time, I ran a bath, turned the lights down, and lost myself. 

The rabbit is soft. I have extra sensitive lady bits, so super hard toys aren't a passion of mine. This was the perfect amount of soft, even with the rabbit nose nub.
 All three settings for the vibrator are strong in the best way. I like intense sessions, so I always turn my toys up to the highest setting, but I had fun with all three, and didn't have any issues you know...getting there!
The only downside to this is that if you're a woman who likes to edge, or hold off on the finale, your hand will eventually get tired of the vibration. If you like to just get to it, you won't have any issue with your hand getting tired because this vibrator can get you there in no time with very little effort on its part.
Another part I really liked was the ears. If I put the nub (rabbit nose) on my most sensitive part, then the vibrating ears tingled in the right spots to create a whole new experience I've never felt with a vibrator before. The ears can also be used to light a fire anywhere else on your body!

All in all, this toy is definitely a 10/10. I would recommend this to anyone starting out with rabbit vibrators, or anyone who likes easy to use toys!




DISCLAIMER: I received this product in exchange for an honest, unbiased review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

November Goals!

02 November 1 Comments

I'm joining Nicole over at Writes Like A Girl to share my November goals! I can't recall if I've ever blogged about monthly goals before, but if not, there's a first time for everything right?
❤︎  - Read at least 15 books this month. They can be graphic novels, or full-length novels, but just reach that goal!


❤︎  - Find a job! I recently quit my job at a plastics factory due to an unresolved sexual harassment case. I want to find another job that isn't mostly men so I'll feel a little bit more comfortable working this time around. I really liked that job, but oh well! Onto bigger and better things, now.

❤︎  - Pay off some (even if it's a bare minimum) of my student loan so I can go back to school faster. Since I haven't been in school I feel myself slipping into a mundane life of barely scraping by. I don't want to live like this for the rest of my life, so I need to get that loan paid off so I can go back to filling my mind with knowledge that will help me have a better future.

❤︎ - Get a kitchen table or at the least a coffee table for the living room! Recently my boyfriend and my dog and I moved into a new apartment together. We pretty much have everything we need, but we do need things like a kitchen table and chairs and a coffee table to really make our house a home.

❤︎ - Print off photos of Trevor and I to put up around the apartment to actually make it feel like ours finally!

❤︎ - Get out of the house! Trevor and I have a habit of just staying indoors and enjoying the company of one another and our dog, but it's Fall, and Fall is my favorite time of the year. I need to find some fun Fall activities to do and drag him along with me to do them and make some memories.

Do you have any November goals that you want to meet? Leave a comment or a link to your blog post below so I can pay a visit to your blog as well! Thanks for reading. ❤︎

Do you want to keep up with me in other ways?


Product Review: Go Organically Fruit Snacks

02 November 0 Comments

Everyone loves fruit snacks, am I right? I know I do, along with everyone else in my household. What if I told you you could get fruit snacks that were actually pretty darn healthy for you? Healthier than the brand you buy right now, most likely? And tastier.  Whaaaat? Fruit snacks that are healthy for you but taste more amazing than the ones that are less healthy for you? I know, I was in awe as well.

Go Organically fruit snacks are USDA certified and made with actual fruit juices and made from real fruit purees. Just one serving of these include all of your daily recommended Vitamin C along with vitamins like E and A. Not to mention the fact that just one serving of these is only 70 calories!

The flavors include grape, pear, pineapple, apple, orange, cherry, strawberry and raspberry. They're also free of preservatives, have no artificial flavors or colors, no high fructose corn syrup, gluten-free, free from genetically modified ingredients, and zero trans fats. And like I said, they're still yummy. This just proves that food that is good for you can still have a good flavor!

Click here to enter their sweepstakes

You could be one of the 10 winners who receive a $50 gift card to use for your Thanksgiving meal and a box of each variety of Go Organically Fruit Snacks

OR

Be the grand prize winner and receive a $4,000 donation to a charity in your name, a $100 gift card to use for Thanksgiving dinner, as well as a box of each variety of Go Organically Fruit Snacs

You can find Go Organically at any of the links below:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

R.I.P. Eliza Hart by Alyssa Sheinmel

01 November 0 Comments
Title: R.I.P Eliza Hart
AuthorAlyssa Sheinmel
Publisher: Scholastic PressPublished: November 28, 2017Pages: 336Genre: Social and family issues, depression and mental illness

Synopsis from Amazon
:


When Eliza Hart, the most popular girl at Ventana Ranch boarding school, is found dead, Ellie Sokoloff is determined to figure out what happened to her. After all, Eliza was Ellie's childhood best friend.
Never mind that ever since Ellie arrived at school Eliza has spread terrible rumors about her, calling her a liar and a stalker, when all Ellie wanted to do was rekindle their old friendship. Or that Ellie's claustrophobia limits where she can go and what she can do. Or that Ellie's suitemate, Sam, is the only one who will help her . . . because to everyone else, Ellie looks like the top suspect.
Can Ellie clear her name and solve the mystery behind Eliza's death? Her hunt for the truth will uncover secrets she never imagined, sending her deep into her own memories of her childhood with Eliza Hart.
New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel delivers a gripping mystery and a sensitive and moving examination of the secrets that can hold us back--and even destroy us.

Review
:

I am so glad I read this book. It's set in a boarding school, which is always a setting that intrigues me since I went to public school all my life. I'll be the first to admit the two girls, Ellie and Eliza confused me at first because their names were so similar, but after I figured out what was going on the reading was smooth sailing from there.

I had quite a bit in common with Ellie, I believe. Which immediately made me like her. She's claustrophobic, as am I. I'm not as bad as her, but I'm skittish about getting into an elevator, or being hugged too hard, and enclosed water slides make me panic to no end. Connecting with a book character through such a unique thing is wonderful, because I can understand exactly where she's coming from and just how tiresome it can be to be worried about whether you'll be put in a situation that triggers you.

R.I.P. Eliza Hart follows the story of two young girls named Ellie and Eliza. Eliza seems at first to be Ella's bully, but further on in the story your opinion will drastically change after the story begins to unfold.

I believe this to have one-upped 13 Reasons Why in every way imaginable. I've never seen a write be so spot on with mental health issues than Sheinmel has been. She approached it in a way that has class, and still leaves her characters with dignity and tact, all the while showing how mental illness not only affects the one who has it, but permeates the lives of others bearing witness the slow decline of their loved ones. 


One thing that stood out to me, was that Sheinmel included the suicide hotline number at the end of the book. I strongly recommend this book to every YA and up out there, in place of 13 Reasons Why.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by any outside factors.

Monday, October 30, 2017

Product Review: Girl's Best Friend by Sweet Vibrations

30 October 0 Comments
I purchased this item on October 25, and it reached me on October 30. It only took two days to get to me, since two of those days were the weekend!
I was very satisfied with the shipping time. The box was extremely discreet and came perfectly packaged with not even a scratch or dent on it.

What I liked:
-It's a two in one vibrator. The side with the bristles stimulate oral sex, (it actually feels like a sucking sensation) while the other side functions as a normal vibrator. Use whichever one you like to suit your mood at the time!
-Fast shipping time
-Discreet
-It's rechargeable so you don't have to have batteries, which is a major plus to me. Comes with a USB cord and a wall plug as well. The website says it can work up to six hours on a single charge, but one time around with this bad boy and I am absolutely spent, which never usually happens to me until now!
-It's pink and cute!
-The head comes off for easy cleaning.
-It has a black travel case for carrying it anywhere with you. It's not see through so no one will know you have it with you.
-There are 20 sucking modes, as well as 20 vibrations you can try out.
-It didn't break the bank, you can buy it here for $39.98 with free shipping!
-It's water resistant.
-It's not too heavy, which is perfect for you gals out there who take awhile to get er done. ;)
-It has a life warranty!

What I didn't like:
-The noise. It's pretty loud, so if you're using it while the children are asleep, play some music or something to muffle the vibration noise.

All in all, I am very satisfied with the quality of Girl's Best Friend. It is easily the best vibrator I've ever used.

Zombies: A Record of the Year of Infection: Field Notes by Dr. Robert Twombly by Don Roff

30 October 0 Comments

"The year is 2012, and what starts as a pervasive and inexplicable illness ends up as a zombie infestation that devastates the world's population. Taking the form of a biologist's illustrated journal found in the aftermath of the attack, this pulse-pounding, suspenseful tale of zombie apocalypse follows the narrator as he flees from city to countryside and heads north to Canada, where he hopes the undead will be slowed by the colder climate. Encountering scattered humans and scores of the infected along the way, he fills his notebook with graphic drawings of the zombies and careful observations of their behavior, along with terrifying tales of survival. This frightening new contribution to the massively popular zombie resurgence will keep fans on the edge of their seats right up to the very end."

Synopsis taken from Goodreads


Review:
TitleZombies: A Record of the Year of Infection: Field Notes by Dr. Robert Twombly
Author: Don Roff
Illustrator: Chris Lane
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Published: October 14, 2009
Pages: 144
Genre: Comics and graphic novels, zombies, horror

I decided to pick up a zombie book considering it's Halloween tomorrow, and I felt like I needed to read at least one "horror" book before October is out.

It's 2012. The outbreak happened quickly. The dead are alive again. We learn about this through diary entries left behind by a Dr. Robert Twombly, a guy dedicated to taking an accurate account of what he has witnessed since the outbreak.

Although the subject of this story isn't original by any means, I think the gross artwork littered throughout the pages is what makes the story so authentic. The amount of detail that went into creating these illustrations were astounding.

It was a quick read, and the ending was super abrupt. You're left to draw conclusions on what happened. I definitely don't like endings like that, but only because I was left wanting more of what I was reading.

I think this book should be a staple on the bookshelves of people who love zombies everywhere.