Saturday, December 26, 2015

Aunt Flo's Happy Box | Subscription Box Review

7:41:00 AM 1 Comments

DISCLAIMER: I was sent this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by Aunt Flo's Happy Box's creator.

I LOVE reviewing subscription boxes because I have absolutely no idea what will be coming in them. I love a mystery! The idea behind Aunt Flo's Happy Box is a perfect one. That time of the month comes and you feel rundown, hungry for some chocolate, and in dire need of some pampering. Aunt Flo is here to help you with that!

I this box I received:

1. Tampax Pocket Pearl Tampons - Since getting in my new birth control implant, I very rarely have Mother Nature visit me monthly, but I do see her sometimes, although not for very long. I love Tampax, and they're the only brand of tampons I will use.

2. Creme de Pirouline in Chocolate Hazlenut - I LOVE these wafers. They carry the perfect amount of crunch and tastiness inside of them. This was a box of 10 wafers, and I'm currently munching on them as I write this.  So yummy, I can't stop.

3. EOS hand lotion in cucumber - I am not a fan of cucumber, but what I am a fan of is this hand lotion and the smell that makes me a fan of cucumber. I adore the design of the lotion bottle and the smell is other worldy. I fell in love and this is something I will definitely purchase more of once I run out.

4. Two Que Bella lavender relaxing aromatherapy masks - Every girl needs to be able to pamper herself when she's feeling under the weather. These make for a wonderful smelling pick-me-up. And there's 2!

5. Bubble & Charm body cream - I could only find that link to buy this lotion, but it comes with another product so I couldn't find the individual item. This lotion has a very flowery smell to it, and I love lotions like that. It's also very non-greasy and soaks in well.

6. Burt's Bees Zinnia tinted lip balm - I love lip balm that hydrates as well as adds a hint of color, and Zinnia is the perfect color for my skin tone. Definitely leaves your lips feeling that familiar Burt's Bees soft and beautiful!

7. Godiva white & milk chocolate truffels - Godiva is my favorite type of chocolate because in my mind it's simply is the best. I'm not a fan of white chocolate but Godiva definitely switches that up for me.

8. Cottonelle flushable cleansing cloths - I know how icky you feel when you're on your cycle and everything down there just makes you feel gross. Cottonelle flushable wipes are there to help. They're you're friend.

I really enjoyed receiving this box, and I recommend it to anyone who get their monthly, and even if not and you receive it occasionally like me, I still recommend this because it's awesome! Perfectly hand-picked. Thanks Aunt Flo!

BolderBand | the Beautiful Headband That *Actually* Stays on Your Head

7:10:00 AM 0 Comments

DISCLAIMER: I was sent this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the BolderBand company.

When I opened these I was so happy! My bands tend to always get in the way when I'm trying to do literally anything, and headbands that actually stay on are so hard to come by, and Amy Crouse as well as probably every other person with hair has the same issue, and we are fed up. Look no further, Bolder Band has the answer! The beautiful and right answer! The colors on these bands are so bright and vivid. They're super soft so they're not annoying you during your workout either. These come in so many different colors and designs you'll have problems picking out which 1 or 8 designs you want. The bands are made out of Lyrcra and Spandex. You can make the band super thick or thin depending on your mood, and it soaks up sweat like a champ. They're machine washable as well but should never be put in the dryer. There are 6 different ways to wear them, so bored with these bands is something you'll never be.

Funbites | Upgrade Your Children's Food

6:46:00 AM 0 Comments

DISCLAIMER
: I received this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the creators of Funbites.

Okay, when I went searching for products for children I stumbled on Funbites. I was immediately hooked because of the awesome jingle that auto-plays on their website. Soon I had a Funbites mold being sent to me. I really like tools that are there to help children get creative, but also tools that get your children to try new things. Both of these are possible with Funbites.

I decided to get the red mold with the hearts. It will be a present to my nephew because this is just too awesome not to pass on! You can make all kinds of different things with this mold rather than the regular heart mold. See below:


This is a two-piece system. All you have to do is remove the piece called the "popper top" from the cutter, press the cutter down on whatever you're cutting, be it sandwiches, fruit, or anything else you want, and then re-insert the "popper top" into the cutter and pop out the fun bite sized food that's perfect and ready for you kids to eat.

I love items that are super safe for your children as well as dishwasher safe. This product is also BPA free and made within the USA. This product is made for children ages 2-10 years old, but let's be honest what adult doesn't like bite sized foods as well. ;)

Friday, December 25, 2015

Teavivre | Tea for Life

11:54:00 AM 0 Comments

DISCLAIMER: I received this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the Teavivre company.

I received the following teas for review:
1. Huang Shan Mao Feng Green Tea
2. White Peony (Bai MuDan) Tea
3. Guang Dong Phoenix Dan Cong Oolong Tea
4. Keemun Black Tea - Grade 1
5. Bi Luo Chun Green Tea (Pi Lo Chun)

My grandma is the tea drinker of the house, so I decided to give these to her as a Christmas gift and she was so excited! Teavivre is a team made up of tea enthusiasts from France, Canada, and China who go through a lengthy process in order to bring tea consumers only the best, and freshest of teas.

1. Huang Shan Mao Feng Green Tea - This tea is grown on Mt. Huangshan. Once you brew it, the color is a soft color similar to an apricot. My problem with tea is its bitterness, but you have none of that with this tea. There is also less than 10% of caffeine in one cup.

2. White Peony (Bai MuDan) Tea - This tea was bought from Taimu Mountain. The color after brewed is similar to that of the Huang Shan Mao Feng Green Tea but it's more clear. The last is very light and slightly woodsy.

3. Guang Dong Phoenix Dan Cong Oolong Tea - Tea is located on Phoenix Mountain, and when brewed a beautiful fiery amber color. Has less than 10% of caffeine. The aftertaste is rather sweet, and changes from the first sip to the last to create a very memorable drinking experience.

4. Keemun Black Tea - Grade 1 - This black tea was bought from Quimen County. The color is very coppery and the taste is a fruity one with bold in between.

5. Bi Luo Chun Green Tea (Pi Lo Chun) - This tea is my favorite because it's a green color with a very noticeable aroma of fruity citrus, with low caffeine.

I love the packaging that Teavivre puts their teas in as well. They're very securely wrapped and fresh when you open the packages which is a major plus especially when they've bought the tea earlier in the year.

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Lip Ink | Semi-Permanent Color That *Actually* Lasts All Day

5:06:00 AM 4 Comments

DISCLAIMER: I received this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the Lip-Ink company.


I received two different trial sized colors to review. The one I have on in the photo above is called Lava Red. It's much, much brighter in person. I definitely have to invest in a camera and some decent lighting. I'm a red kind of girl, so I also decided on the Glitter Ruby which I'm saving for Christmas, but I have to say it is probably my favorite out of the two that were sent to me. It is gorgeous.


I really love this lip-stain because you hear all kinds of products claiming to be smear-proof, but you always find out the hard way they're not telling the truth, but you don't have to worry about that with this product. It's literally two days later, and after brushing my teeth and washing my face I still have a red tint to my lips. I love it. This product is made with organic, vegan, and kosher ingredients. Not to mention that they're gluten and cruelty free as well.

At first I was like, "This is weird having to go through three steps to apply lipstick." but I was very surprised. The first step was the off solution. It helps cleanse and exfoliate your lips. After you're done doing that, you splash your lips and then PAT them dry. No harsh rubbing your sensitive lips, ladies (or gents)! Second, you're to hydrate your lips with the shine moisturizer packet. A little goes a long way, so make sure not to over-do it! You want it completely soaked in before putting the final product on. Make sure to shake the lip ink bottle before applying as well. You can apply the color up to three times, but for my lips I used only two applications because my lips were already bright enough against my pale skin. WARNING: It tingles! A lot. I was worried I did something wrong but I remember a member of the Lip-Ink team mentioning that it will and that it's perfectly fine. It stopped after not even 10 seconds.

I adore the colors. I'm so happy with this product and I will definitely be buying once these trials run out because they actually last. Well worth the money and a product I will be telling everyone possible about.

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Berry Sleepy | The Easier, Nautural Way to Fall Asleep

11:47:00 PM 0 Comments
DISCLAIMER: I received this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the Berry Sleepy company.

I've been known to have a very unnatural sleeping pattern. After some research I found this product that piqued my interest. These capsules blend together 3 different sleep-inducing fruits (Tart Cherries, Goji Berries, and Passion Fruit) to help you go to sleep and wake up without the groggy feeling everyone loathes.

So what exactly do these fruits do? Tart Cherries have high levels of melatonin to improve your sleeping patterns, the duration of your sleep, as well as the quality of it. Goji Berries include magnesium and thiamin to help quicken the time it takes for you to fall asleep, helps you get the deep sleep your body needs, and gives you energy the day after you take them! Passion Fruit has serotonin in it. Serotonin relaxes you, and helps you regulate your sleep.

All you have to do is take 2 capsules 30 minutes before you want to go to sleep with a cup of water. I love this product because it actually did help me in falling asleep, and I didn't wake up with that groggy feeling I know all too well. Not to mention it has fruit in it so it's definitely beneficial for you without having all of those additional, worrisome ingredients included in it! You can buy them here.

Reflo | Train Your Kids With a Smarter Cup

2:24:00 AM 1 Comments

DISCLAIMER: I received this product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the Reflo company.

I love these cups! They're perfect for children who are out of bottles, but who aren't fully ready for a full blow adult cup yet. These are perfect alternatives to sippy cups because they're actually shaped like cups and they're able to get the feel for one. These cups can come in 4 different colors. Those colors are red violet, blue, green, and clear. This who cup is BPA and phthalate free, so these are perfectly fine to give your your children.

What I really thought was super awesome about this cup is that your child can drink out of all sides of it with a flow that isn't heavy at all to ensure a mess-free training. You can also put ice cubes into this cup without having to worry that you child will get choked on them. The Reflo insert keeps everything below the insert inside the cup except for when your child decides they want a drink.

This cup isn't intended to be used with hot drinks or drinks that include pulp, so use this training aid with cold drinks only.

I really enjoyed receiving this item, and I'm going to be giving it to my sister for Christmas to help with my nephew who is just the right age for this cup. You can order them here if you want!

Ashley Davis Designs | A Beautiful Jewelry Etsy Shop

12:38:00 AM 3 Comments
I adore working with Etsy shops. All of their products are so unique and original, and there is so much hard work and love poured into the items the create. I was very happy to be able to receive a beautiful handmade ring from Ashley Davis Designs in exchange for an honest review.

This is the gorgeous ring I received. I don't have a photo with it on because at the time my fingers were swollen and I ended up giving it as a gift to a friend I knew would love it as much as I did. I have to admit, I'm a ring girl. Any time I buy jewelry it's almost always a ring, so I was extremely excited to get this. Green is my favorite color as well so I was doubly excited! I love how elegant the design is. If you're interested, the ring is here. Her Etsy shop also has a ton of other unique jewelry items that I know my readers will love, so make sure to check her out!

For this specific ring, you have two color options of blue or green. The wire can be either gold or silver. It's only $6 dollars for this beautiful ring, it's practically a steal, and you're supporting a small business owner!

Isn't this ring super simple but adorably elegant? I love jewelry that makes a statement.

Sunday, December 20, 2015

Gifts for the Pokemon Fan | The Ultimate Gift Guide

2:29:00 AM 8 Comments

Hello, everyone! I grew up on Pokemon, as a lot of others my age did. I put together a gift guide for parents who might not know what to get their teenagers for Christmas, or for anyone who needs some ideas when they're deciding on buying a Pokemon gift for the person who seems to have everything pertaining to Pokemon already! I was poking around on Etsy today and found a lot of things that I found to be super awesome. Hope you and that lucky person who's receiving your gift enjoy!

1. The Original Succulent Monster. This gorgeous thing is made with plastic that is 100% non-toxic. Can come in 4 beautiful colors that include blue, black, green, or white. It even comes with instructions, a water pipette, spare dirt, and wrapped up tightly for shipping so this fragile yet beautiful thing won't break on its way to you! This is a very unique item.The shop has two other choices to choose from so check it out here!


2. Gastly Pokemon Smoke plugs. If the person you're buying this present for is into plugs, I recommend this gift. Gastly was one of my favorite Pokemon, and who wouldn't adore these?! There are a ton of different size options, so make sure to check them out! You can also get Gastly replaced with any psychic Pokemon of your choice! The shop has plenty of other beautiful plugs so browse here at your pleasure.



3. If you and your SO or best friend are into jewelry, I definitely recommend these adorable rings. You have the option between 9 fonts to choose from, and a huge selection of sizes as well! These rings won't tarnish, which is a major thing I look for in jewelry. The material is made out of aluminum and are open backed for a tighter or looser fit. 



4. Is the receiver a medical smoker? Give the gift of a Pokemon grinder for Christmas! It comes with a magnetic lid so you never lose the contents inside. This is a 4 piece grinder made out of aircraft grade aluminum that has been etched with a laser to ensure the design won't fade over time.

5. Who doesn't like baths? If you would like to give the gift of Pokemon bath bombs this winter, get these! They each come with a surprise Pokemon inside of them. How awesome is that? You have the option of 3, 4, 6, or 8 bath bombs. The blue colored ones smell like blueberry/raspberry sorbet. The green bath bombs are cucumber melon. The yellow bath bombs smell like passionfruit rose. The pink ones smell like strawberry or apple!  


Thanks for reading! If you decide to buy any of these for yourself or someone else I'm sure you or they are going to love them! Thanks for reading and stop by again!

-Cheers!
Sabrina

e.l.f 3-in-1 mascara | Makeup Review

1:42:00 AM 10 Comments

I bought this mascara on a whim on night before a trip up to Louisville, Kentucky to visit a friend. I have always wanted to try e.l.f to see what all the buzz was about and was excited to get this on my eyelashes.

These are my eyelashes normally with the help of the Danielle Enterprises eyelash curler.


And these are my eyelashes after trying the e.l.f 3-in-1 mascara.

I really like this mascara because it doesn't make your eyes clumpy. A little goes a long way in the use of this mascara. As you can tell it definitely lengthened my eyelashes and defined the really well. I love how dark the mascara is. The brush is shaped in a way that I haven't seen another brush shaped. It has a ball like tip at the end of it so it reaches to hard-to-reach lashes that are closer to the inside of your eye. This mascara lasts all day. I recommend having a good makeup remover to be able to remove this at the end of the day because when you try to take it off it likes to stick to your skin if you just use water and a wash rag. 5/5 definitely recommended!

Have you tried this mascara? Tell me if so!

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Styl Styk: A New Way to Style Your Hair

11:31:00 PM 0 Comments

DISCLAIMER: I was sent the Styl Styk in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the Styl Styk company


When I first opened this package, I was like "Oh goodness how am I going to work these?" My hair is horrible when it comes to working with any sort of device unless it's a really good one. These are super easy and they both give you hairstyles you don't normally see on people, which I love. It's definitely a new style to me, and I'll be using this a lot more. Below are some photos from their website that shows you what these do. I didn't take any photos due to my horrible shakiness of my hands and not being able to properly get one, but I can attest that these do in fact do what they say they do!

This is one of many hairstyles you can do with the Styl Styks. My favorite is the offset parts that give your hair the extra "oomph" it needs, and trust me, mine needs a lot. I love these because they give your hair volume when yours has none without any sticky hairsprays or any other chemicals! Just your natural hair and whichever Styk you choose.

The perks to using these are plentiful. If you dye your hair and your dark roots are coming in, you can hide them by using this tool. It's super easy and effective. Volume is easy to attain with this as well.

As you can see, there are two different Styks. The "Flip-Do" has prongs that are father apart and gives your part less zigzags, but fuller zigzags. The "Pony-Tail" has prongs that are closer together, but gives your hair smaller and tighter zig-zag shapes. In order to add volume you can hold the Style Styk horizontally, or for off-set styles you can hold it vertically.

I adore this product and will use it any time I want style in seconds!

Danielle Creations | Create Infinite Lashes

3:29:00 AM 0 Comments

I was out shopping with my mom, grandma, and sister last weekend and I stumbled on a cute little section in T.J Maxx that caught my eye. My eyes skipped over everything else naturally because this and a pair of tweezers were the only items on the display that were pink. So of course I decided to buy this eyelash curler, and the pair of tweezers (which I'll be saving for another review).

Even though I picked this up based solely on the color, I was not disappointed at all! I normally get a lot of comments on how long my eyelashes are when they're not curled or they don't have mascara on them. I am so thankful for that, believe me! I've been without an eyelash curler for a long time, so I'm happy I decided to buy this one on a whim.

Below is what they look like, the before photo of my eye, and the after photo. I really need a new phone with a good camera or just better lighting in general, but here it is anyway.


The name of these eyelash curlers are not misleading at all. They're called "Soft Touch Implements" for a reason. That reason is because even though the grips are rubber, they actually feel like you're touching someone velvet, but smoother than that. Soft things in my hands? I likely. The plus side to these eyelash curlers despite the great curling action, is the fact that they come with two extra refills of the rubber pads in case yours get disgustingly gunky. PSA; Don't use your eyelash curlers on lashes that already have makeup on them! You'll hurt your eyelashes!

I wish I had a better picture, but these eyelash curlers are a definite must-have! I'm very, very happy with these and I know I'll be using them until they mysteriously disappear or I find one that has magical properties and does better than this one.

Thanks for reading! What sort of eyelash curler do you use? Do you use one at all? Did you know you weren't supposed to use eyelash curlers on your eyelashes after makeup, but before?

Cheers!
-Sabrina

Friday, December 18, 2015

FixMySkin | A Winter Must-Have

8:22:00 PM 0 Comments

DISCLAIMER: I recieved these products from FixMySkin in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and not swayed by the FixMySkin company.


FixMySkin couldn't have come into my life at a better time. I have extremely chapped lips currently. As soon as I got this package I opened it and took out one of the two lip balms that were in there. It smells like vanilla but I would recommend you not licking your lips because it only smells like it, not tastes like it. I found out the hard way. I really like these lip balms because they are made to repair your damaged lip skin. It is made with 1% hydrocortisone. Rub on your lips 2-3 times a day as directed and you'll see this lip balm helps out with your extremely chapped lips in no time. These lip balms are a super small size and easy to tote around without taking up too much space in your purse. In addition to the ingredients, shea butter and beeswax are included! I recommend keeping one of these in your purse during the Winter months because that cold wind can dry and damage your lips in no time.

The other samples I have received are a different brand called "Lovely Skin", and I'll be writing a different review on them soon! Thanks so much for reading.

Cheers!
-Sabrina 

Thursday, December 17, 2015

How to Become a Product Reviewer: Tips and Tricks

3:08:00 PM 16 Comments

This is a question I get asked a lot through my Facebook friends. As a result of that, I'm making a comprehensive list of tips and tricks I've learned throughout my months of being a product review blog.

1. Get a blog and establish your niche.
I recommend starting out with a simple blogging platform like Blogger, which is what this website is, or Wordpress. I chose Blogger because it is super user friendly, has a lot of widgets you can add to your blog, and simply just because I prefer this website to Blogger. Establishing your niche is easy! All you have to do is decide what type of products you want to review. Are you a makeup addict and want to review beauty products? Go for a beauty blog! Are you a brand spankin' new mother and like to talk about your kids and their experiences? Become a mommy blogger! Are you someone who just really enjoys trying everything out? Consider yourself a universal blogger. 

2. Gather a following.This step took awhile for me because I didn't have the resources I'll be giving you below.
  • Grow your social media: Get an Instagram, Pinterest, and a Twitter so you'll have more places to review the products that are getting sent to you. The more social media websites you have, the better you keep up with them, the more followers you end up getting and the better chances you have at getting companies to take you seriously. 
  • Join Facebook groups specifically for bloggers: A few of them are listed below. Make sure you read the rules before joining!
    1. Blog Engagement &Promotion Group
    2. Non-Parent Blog Promotion Group
    3. The Blog Love Project
    4. Grow Your Blog
    5. Blogging Tribe
    6. Show Your Blog Love
    7. The Sparkle Life

    These are the Facebook groups that I'm currently in. They have daily blog promotion threads to help you connect with other bloggers, and other bloggers connect with you. 
  • Use Google: Look for blogs within your niche and find blog posts that interest you and comment on them. The more places you comment, the more you have a chance at having people seeing your name and comments and wanting to see what else you have to say!
3. Review!
Start out reviewing things that are already in your home to get a feel for how you want your blog posts to be set up. My product reviews are all over the place, but a lot of other blogs are more structured. It's whatever you want it to be! Once you have a decent number of visitors coming to see your page daily, and a nice background of product reviews, then you can start finding companies to contact!

4. How to find companies.

  • You can start by using google. You can type in "gluten-free foods" if you're a healthy food blogger and companies will pop up. Or you can look up "organic makeup". Basically you can look up anything you want and there will most likely be a company for it. 
  • You can also get ideas from other product review blogs. You can search "product review blog" and find hundreds of these. Searching through their blog posts for companies that fit your niche is super easy! 
5. What to do when you find a company to e-mail.
Make sure you have something to say. For example, I start out by telling them my name, my blog URL, what I blog about, how many followers I have, and example to past reviews. This is basically what they're looking for. Depending on the company, they might require you to have a wide viewing base on your blogs alone, or they'll decide if they're going to send you samples based on your social media following as well. Don't forget to thank them even if they say no! It's not all about receiving products, it's also about getting your name and blog out there, and a nice person behind the blog will always receive better praise than someone who's rude. Here is a guideline for the e-mail I normally send below:

Example:

Hello! My name is _____ and I run a product review blog over at http://www.whateveryourblognameis.com. I was looking around your website and I would love to be able to review some of your products for my blog if possible? 
I would be absolutely delighted if so, but if not that's perfectly fine. 

If so, here is my information and it would be very appreciated!

Name:
Address:
Phone number:

Always close out with a thank you as well!

Hopefully this guide works for you if you're looking to become a product review blog! If you have any other questions don't hesitate to ask me!

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Active D'Lites: The most important candy bars you will ever eat.

12:28:00 AM 10 Comments
DISCLAIMER: I received the products below in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by activedlites.com.


I'm a person with serious immune system issues. I get sick anytime someone coughs or sneezes, and I can contract just about any infection going around. Woo-hoo! Anyway. Growing up, I really didn't care what was in my food. If I tasted good, it went in my mouth. Since I've been blogging over the past few months, I've noticed that a lot of businesses are popping up that have a multitude of health benefits. For example: gluten-free, non-GMO, or all organic. I have to admit, these businesses have definitely grown on me. So, why is this the most important candy bar you'll eat? 

These super healthy candy bars are jam-packed with probiotics. Um, Sabrina? What is a probiotic and why should I care? 

In order to have a healthy immune system, you need to have a great amount of positive bacteria located within your intestines. Your intestines are the most prone to be succeptable to stress and in turn makes them not run exactly how they should. Active D'Lites uses probiotics that go by the name of HOWARU® that are backed up by a multitude of clinical studies trialed by humans as well as 600 research papers written over it. Some of these research papers entail the benefits of eating probiotics on a daily basis can help keep everything working the way it is supposed to.

Now, onto the taste. I know a lot of people shy away from "healthy" foods because some of the just don't taste good, at all. So I understand if you're a little bit skeptical, but hear me out. These taste so good. I tried the chocolate caramel flavor first because I love chocolate and caramel together. It's probably my favorite flavor combination. I love the fact that they included a mint flavor for me to review, because it's the winter time and mint is especially popular right now! I'll be giving these to my grandma and mom because they enjoy mint a lot better than I do, but that's not a diss on this company at all! These are also amazing tasting. I love the fact that the mint flavor isn't in your face like a lot of other products out on the market. I think that's why I like this one so much. I normally dislike a lot of mint flavored candies. Last but definitely not least is the almond flavored chocolate bar. I normally dislike nuts in my chocolate, but this was okay by me. There isn't a lot packed in there, so you get a perfect mix of the chocolate as well as the nuts. 

Why else do you like these candy bars, Sabrina?

1. Each bar has a very low amount of calories. 110 to be exact!
2. There's no sugar in these! They're sweetened with Stevia which is 25-30 times sweeter than regular sugar. This one is a no-brainer.
3. As far as the probiotics go? There are 20 billion of them in one candy bar.
4. They're also low in net carbs! Perfect for those of you out there who try to steer clear of carbs! 

Thank you all so much for reading and I encourage you all to go buy these if you want a healthy 
alternative to snacking down! Have you ever tried these? If so, what's your favorite flavor?  

It would be awesome if you could:
-Follow Active D'Lites on Twitter here.
-Check our the Active D'Lites Facebook page here.

Monday, December 14, 2015

AQUIS: The better way to dry your hair | Review

1:40:00 PM 0 Comments
Disclaimer: I was sent the AQUIS microfiber towel in exchange for an honest review. All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the company.

I was excited to use this towel after I read information on it. I had no idea rubbing your hair with a towel was bad for you. I know, where have I been? Truly, I have just not been paying attention. I am now, though. These towels are made from a fabric called Aquitex. This fabric is woven with ultra-fine fibers that lets the towel feel super lightweight. I was surprised with how fast my hair dried with this towel on my head! I so used to taking my hair out of a towel and having it still drenched, as well as tangled. I had no issue with any of these problems after using this towel. I'm being 100% honest. I myself had no idea the type of towel you use on your hair could make that much of a difference, but trust me. It does. I'm not going to use another towel after using the Aquis towel.

Kushyfoot | Footwear review

1:10:00 PM 0 Comments
Disclaimer: I've been provided these samples in exchange for an honest review. All of the opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed in any form by Kushyfoot.


I wanted to first talk about these adorable flats-to-go's. They sent the alligator print to me, and have 3 other prints available. At first I thought, "Oh my goodness these are going to feel so weird on me!" but I was extremely surprised once I got them on. They are the most comfortable pair of flats I own currently. They don't rub the back of my heels raw when I walk in them at all, which is a major plus for me because every pair of flats I have do that to me no matter what size they are. The padded sole on the bottom is a plus for your achy feet! Kushyfoot really is amazing just for this. I'll continue on, though.


I normally have a really hard time finding knee high socks that fit me in a way that...actually fit. I have big legs. They're freakishly muscular at the bottom from cheer-leading when I was younger, so it's hard to find socks that actually stay up and won't roll down when I'm walking. These are perfect for that! I walked through my house without these rolling down once. They're also 
very warm and super soft because they're fleece lined. I'm super excited about these because my legs and feet get so cold during the winter months!

Kushyfoot also sent me two pairs of extreme low cut foot covers in black and nude. I've always had an issue finding foot coverings that don't actually show when I'm wearing a pair of flats. They're always peeking out either behind my heel or at the tips of my toes. I had no problem slipping these on and putting on the flats they sent me and being surprised to find out that these are really great at being no-shows! These are perfect for people who want to wear their cute flats, but need socks that actually don't show when they walk! Not to mention how elegant these look. No one will see them anyway, but it's nice that they're cute!


I was also sent the Microfiber crew sock. I love these socks. I always have problems with achy feet. These socks are made with soles with zig-zag designs on the bottom of them in order to help protect the balls of your feet. They're also made with Coolmax which keeps your feet from sweating all day! Who wouldn't absolutely love the idea of that? 


And last but certainly not least, they sent me two pairs of their white low cut arch support athletic socks. I have to admit, I'm a low-key sock hater. I used to never wear socks much to the dismay of my parents because I always thought they were just too uncomfortable and that they weren't worth it. It was a form of torture to me to have to wear them. These socks are no issue for me. I am in love with how thick but comfortable these are. They're warm, and you can't definitely tell they have support for your arches in them because there's a little but of pressure on the bottom of your foot, but it's not an uncomfortable kind of pressure.

Visit the Kushyfoot website here.
Like Kushyfoot on Facebook here.
Follow Kushyfoot on Twitter here.

Thanks for reading, and as always comment what you think! 
Cheers,
Sabrina!

Sunday, December 13, 2015

Flex Watches - Review

5:52:00 PM 0 Comments
Disclaimer: All opinions herein are of my own and are not swayed by the facts that I got these products for review purposes. 

For this review, I was given the black Black Venice Watch and the Blue Venice Watch. I gave the black watch to my boyfriend, and decided to keep the blue one for myself. I love these watches! The straps are so soft, yet very durable because it's made out of silicone. Not to mention that the casing is water resistant! I adore these very simplistic but cute watches!
These watches are part of the Venice collection. Each watch you buy helps children who are in need so your money is going to a great cost. Definitely recommended. 5/5!

Artisana Organics - Review

5:19:00 PM 0 Comments


DISCLAIMER: I received these products in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are of my own and are not swayed by the company or any other factors.

I got a lot of samples from this company and I was so happy about it. Not only are these extremely healthy, but they come in tastes that I actually like. My grandma and mother went crazy over the coconut oil because they go through it insanely fast, so I know they'll be using it on everything. What I enjoyed the most out of this was the nut butters, though. I got sent jars and on-the-go pouches of coconut oil and butter, as well as walnut, pecan, and cashew. I don't care much for the taste of cashews to begin with, but I love walnuts and pecans so I'll be using this stuff for the food I'll be eating. I know these nut butters will be an awesome alternative to peanut butter (which I really dislike).

What else do I like about this brand? I love that they're made in a plant that doesn't process any peanuts, gluten (which is huge for me), dairy, or soy. Also, everything is organic! You're not eating anything that you don't know about, and nothing horrible for your body is entering your system.

I definitely recommend this company to anyone who values food at its purest form and wants to have a healthier lifestyle, but not have to give up great tasting food to get it!

InStyler MAX 2-Way Rotating Iron 1-1/4" Black - Review

8:13:00 AM 15 Comments

Product: InStyler MAX 2-Way Rotating Iron 1-1/4" Black
Product Features: 2 ways rotating barrels that curl both left and right, tourmaline ceramic smoothing paste, heated rotating plate, ionic bristles, 4 heat settings that go up to 425 degrees Fahrenheit, a thermal guard, a removable cool tip, 30 second rapid heat up, shuts off automatically, 6 inch professional swivel cord.

I got this as a present for Christmas from my boyfriend. I was super excited to get this because I've been wanting something like it for awhile and I was far from disappointed in the InStyler. I have very thin and wavy hair, and I normally just leave my hair the way it is because I hardly ever go anywhere and when I do I never feel like messing with my hair. The InStyler does it for you! All you have to do is select which way you want the barrel to go and which hairstyle you want, and then the InStyler does the rest! It took me a total amount of 6 minutes to achieve the straight hairstyle I wanted. I have yet to use it to curl my hair, but I am excited to try that out as well because using normal curling irons have always been a challenge to me. The InStyler leaves your hair shiny with a ton of volume (perfection for someone with very flat hair) and without frying your hair despite the high temperature.
The instructions tell you to go slow through your hair to achieve maximum results, and that's a great tip to follow. If you don't you won't get the amount of straightening you want and you'll have to go over it multiple times and it will take you longer.
I'm so happy to be able to own this product, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an easy to use hair straightener/curler!

Thursday, December 10, 2015

PB Crave review + Giveaway!

5:55:00 PM 0 Comments
I got in contact with this wonderful company called PB Crave and they e-mailed me back right away promptly and with a ton of enthusiasm! I couldn't have been happier. They sent me 4 full sized products in exchange for an honest review. All opinions within are of my own and are not swayed by the company or any other possible factors.

If you're anything like me, you despise the plain old peanut butter you buy in the stores. I have always avoided it at all costs whenever possible. That definitely changed when I tasted the creation of Curt Riess' peanut butter. The different blend of ingredients is amazing. Not to mention the healthiness of this peanut butter! There are no artificial flavors in this peanut butter, no hydrogenated oil, no syrups, gluten free, cholesterol free, Kosher, and requires no refrigeration. 2% of the profits they make from their sale of ever jar goes towards Project Peanut Butter. This organization has a focus on malnourished children. So far they have saved the lives of 100,000 children. 
The first flavor of PB Crave my friend Kaley and I tested was the Coco Bananas one. The main ingredients in this flavor is wild honey, bananas, and cocoa! This was our second favorite flavor that came in the whole pack. I adore the taste of bananas and chocolate together and this peanut butter is no exception. It tastes amazing! 
The second flavor we tried was the Razzle Dazzle flavor! I'm not one for raspberry flavoring at all, but this was a nice surprise. I actually liked it! The flavor wasn't entirely in your face, but you could tell it was there. I definitely liked this one. The main ingredients in this one is wild honey, white and semi-sweet chocolate, and red raspberries.
The third flavor I tried was the tastiest to me and Kaley. It has a mixture of wild honey, chocolate chips, and cookie dough flavoring. I had to hold myself back from eating more of this because I'm already full, but on my next snacking venture I'll definitely be using this on a peanut butter sandwich!
The last flavor we tried was the Choco Choco flavor. It tastes exactly how you  would assume it does. Amazing! I'm a huge chocolate fan, so the mix between both dark and milk chocolate is perfection to me. Add in the flavor of wild honey and it's even more amazing!

Sign up for their newsletter here.
Like them on Facebook here.
Follow them on Twitter here.
You can find PB Crave at select Wal-Mart Supercenters and Cost Plus World Market Stores!

To enter this giveaway, just comment below your name and e-mail and I'll get in contact with you if you win! Thanks for reading and entering the giveaway.

Cheers, 
Sabrina!

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

SexyPop popcorn + chips review!

11:12:00 PM 0 Comments
Hello, everyone! This will be my first actual product review on this blog, but I've done a ton of them before on my previous Tumblr blogs and my wordpress site, but I've decided to move all of my book/product reviews to this site to keep things less hectic for me!

Anyway! I contacted SexyPop to see if they would send me some samples to review, and they did in a very timely manner I would add. I was expecting two, maybe three packages of chips, but they sent me a multitude to my surprise, and I am not complaining at all! Josie from SexyPop is so nice and helpful and I had a wonderful experience with this company.

Their popcorn is made without any GMO, they are gluten-free, have an abundance of antioxidants, and they only have 40 calories in one cup! On top of that, they are made out of 100% whole grain, they're Kosher, they're high in dietary fiber, and have 0 trans fat! Definitely a healthier and yummier alternative to regular popcorn if I must say to myself.

As for their chips, they have such a satisfying crunch I fell head over heels in love! These chips are cholesterol free, Kosher, earth grown, gluten free, have 0 trans fat, and are high in dietary fiber.

I also love the packaging that they put their popcorn and chips in! They have adorable and fun bags filled with insane yummy-ness I never even thought possible of healthy snack food. Out of all the flavors, the ones listed below were my absolute favorites:

1. Spinach and Matcha Tea - This seems like an unlikely combination, right? Well, it might be but it is an insanely good one! I'll admit, I had my doubt when I bought the chip to my lips, but when it was finally in my mouth I fell in love. It had the perfect mix of salty and sweet to satisfy my craving.

2. Brazilian Coconut - I really, really dislike coconut, but I was definitely surprised when I tasted this and loved it! It's not a very strong taste of coconut, but it's there in just the right amount to be noticed, but not too strong that it's too overwhelming. 

3. Sweet and Salty - This was my favorite out of all the flavors I was sent! I adore anything that is sweet and salty, and this was no exception!

The other flavors they sent me was Nantucket Salted, Pineapple Habanero, Black Pepper, and Bangin' Cheddar! This is definitely a company I'll be ordering from as soon as I run out of these samples.
Cheers, 
Sabrina!

The Silent Wife + Update!

4:25:00 PM 10 Comments
It's been awhile since I've posted, and that's due to me mostly sleeping my days away, preparing and doing finals for the end of this semester in college, and binge watching Scream Queens. I hate and love that show with a passion. Anyway! Hopefully things get back to normal soon. This weather has me feeling a little down as always during the last few months of the year, but I'm sure I'll snap out of it! Thanks for continuing to read my reviews and giving me something to look forward to when I log onto the computer.  

Name: The Silent Wife
Author: A.S.A. Harrison
Publisher+Penguin Books USA
Pages: 326
Rating: 3/5

Synopsis from Amazon:
Jodi and Todd are at a bad place in their marriage. Much is at stake, including the affluent life they lead in their beautiful waterfront condo in Chicago, as she, the killer, and he, the victim, rush haplessly toward the main event. He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose. Told in alternating voices, The Silent Wife is about a marriage in the throes of dissolution, a couple headed for catastrophe, concessions that can’t be made, and promises that won’t be kept. Expertly plotted and reminiscent of Gone Girl and These Things HiddenThe Silent Wife ensnares the reader from page one and does not let go.

My Review:
I really dislike books that deal with infidelity within a relationship. I can read about grisly murder or murder scene without batting an eye, but when it comes to someone cheating on someone they've sworn to love I start squirming and it throws me off balance for a little while mentally. I don't know what it is that makes my skin crawl so much, but I know this subject matter can illicit anger in me unlike any other. 
I'm only giving this book a 3 out of 5 because I had to keep putting it down. It was making me so angry I couldn't read it straight through no matter how much I wanted to. Jodi's compliance and willingness to avoid any sort of confrontation was annoying at most, but I can say the way things ended up made it all that much better for me. You have no idea how I sat there after the big finale and laughed because it seems exactly like something I would want to happen if I were in that sort of situation. (I know! I'm so crazy, right?)
I have to congratulate Harrison on her amazing writing, as well as her ability to illicit the kind of emotion I had reading The Silent Wife. I've only read maybe one or two books that this has happened to me, and neither one of those I have finished yet. I'll definitely be reading others from her.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

You Can't Leave Me Now: Three Stories of True Crime

3:30:00 PM 0 Comments
Name: You Can't Leave Me Now: Three Stories of True Crime
Author: Laura McNeal
Publisher: San Diego Reader
Pages: 240
Rating: 5/5
Buy the book: Amazon

Disclaimer: I got this book for free in exchange for an honest review. All opinions within are of my own and are not swayed by the people who have gifted me this book.

Synopsis from Amazon:

The victims in these gripping stories by Laura McNeal have one terrifying thing in common: all are betrayed by people they trust.  
In The Death of Judy Huscher, a 12-year-old girl is awakened in the night by her mother, who offers her a cup of hot chocolate.  
In The Last Meeting of the Dove Club, two friends stay for dinner even though their host is dangerously drunk. 
In The Toothpicks, a member of a Mexican drug cartel introduces his unsuspecting friend to the pretty girl who will lead him to a San Diego rental house stocked with guns, rope, and muriatic acid. 
In scene after harrowing scene, McNeal recounts every extraordinary detail of these unforgettable crimes, their prosecution, and aftermath, reminding us that in life, as in fiction, all is not as it appears.
My review:
I'm a crime fanatic, so when this book was sent to me, I was ecstatic! Whether it be fake crime or true, I am addicted. The first story was rather sad, and takes you back to a time where things were done a lot different and poisons were available to buy any time you felt the need to poison your daughter. The second story took you back even farther to three generations in a man's family, and ended with a bang. Literally. The third story was my favorite! Drug cartels are so much fun to read about, and the way they do things is so gritty and disturbing, I have zero idea why I love reading about them so much.
McNeal has a way of writing facts that makes you think you're reading a story instead of actual history you normally need out of non-fiction. I was sucked in from the second I opened the book to the very last page. She has a way of putting images in your head and makes you want to keep reading until the very end. Thanks so much for letting me read this, Laura! 

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Love and Misadventure

11:54:00 AM 0 Comments
Name: Love & Misadventure
Author: Lang Leav
Publisher+Andrews McMeel Publishing
Pages: 176
Rating: 3/5
Buy the book: Amazon

Synopsis from Amazon:
Beautifully illustrated and thoughtfully conceived, Love and Misadventure will take you on a rollercoaster ride through an ill-fated love affair—from the initial butterflies through the soaring heights to the devastating plunge.  And, in the end, the message is one of hope.

The journey from love to heartbreak to finding love again is personal yet universal. Lang Leav's evocative poetry speaks to the soul of anyone who is on this journey.  Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world. 

Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist. Her work expresses the intricacies of love and loss.

My review:
I've been wanting to read this for a long time. I already knew that it was poetry, but what caught my eye first was the beautiful cover because it's so stunning and inviting. The illustrations that are within the book are whimsical and magical. I thoroughly enjoyed skimming through this book. It's a fast and easy read, but one that draws out raw emotion in you and it makes you want to read your favorite poems over and over again.
A few of my favorite poems within this book are A Dedication, Art and Books, Wallflower, Lost Things, First Love, and my favorite of all of the poems in this book is titled Sad Songs. I've taken the poem from here and copy/pasted it below. All of the poems I've read within this book resonated with my soul. I wanted to run to my boyfriend and grab him and tell him to never, ever let me go. I could feel the sadness in Lang's writing, and it's a beautiful kind of sadness.
The book is divided up into three parts, the first strikes you as quirky, the second is heartbreaking, and the third lifts you up. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who thoroughly enjoys poetry and well as very short stories thrown into the mix.

“once there was a boy who couldn’t speak but owned a music box that held every song in all the world. one day he met a girl who had never heard a single melody in her entire life and so he played her his favorite song. he watched while her face lit up with wonder as the music filled the sky and the poetry of lyrics moved her in a way she had never felt before.

he would play his songs for her day after day and she would sit by him quietly - never seeming to mind that he could only speak to her through song. she everything he played for her, but of them all - she loved the sad songs best. so he began to play them more and more until eventually, sad songs were all she would hear.
one day, he noticed it been a very long time since her last smile. when he asked her why, she took both of his hands and kissed them warmly. she thanked him for his gift of music and poetry but above all else - for showing her sadness because she had known neither of these things before him. but it was now time for her to go away - to find someone who could show her what happiness was.”

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Breaking Wild

4:01:00 PM 7 Comments
Name: Breaking Wild
Author+Diane Les Becquets
Publisher: Berkley
Release date: February 9, 2016
Pages: 320
Rating: 3/5
Buy the book: Amazon

Disclaimer: I was given the chance to read this book ahead of time thanks to +NetGalley+Diane Les Becquets, and Berkley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions within are of my own and may differ from person to person.

Synopsis from Amazon:
It is the last weekend of the season for Amy Raye Latour to get away. Driven to spend days alone in the wilderness, Amy Raye, mother of two, is compelled by the quiet and the rush of nature. But this time, her venture into a remote area presents a different set of dangers than Amy Raye has planned for and she finds herself on the verge of the precarious edge that she’s flirted with her entire life.
 
When Amy Raye doesn’t return to camp, ranger Pru Hathaway and her dog respond to the missing person’s call. After an unexpected snowfall and few leads, the operation turns into a search and recovery. Pru, though, is not resigned to that. The more she learns about the woman for whom she is searching, and about Amy Raye’s past, the more she suspects that Amy Raye might yet be alive. Pru’s own search becomes an obsession for a woman whose life is just as mysterious as the clues she has left behind.
 
As the novel follows Amy Raye and Pru in alternating threads, Breaking Wild 
assumes the white-knuckled pace of a thriller laying bare Amy Raye’s ultimate reckoning with the secrets of her life, and Pru’s dogged pursuit of the woman who, against all odds, she believes she can find.

My Review:
I love books written with strong women as their protagonists. Pru and Amy Ray are two perfect examples of this. I did not have any problem taking in stride Amy Ray's problems and issues. I quite enjoyed getting inside the head of the two women and finding out why and how they've came to be in the place they are today. Amy Ray's story is quite wild, and shouldn't be read if you can't handle scenes of rape or incest. I really enjoy the way +Diane Les Becquets can transplant you from your warm and cozy house and land you smack dab in the middle of the wilderness with your heart thrumming from the cold and fear of encountering a wild animal intent on ripping your heart out.
This story is riveting, heart-breaking, and hard to put down. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good, fast read and someone who really likes nature or a book that lets you into someone elses' life and teaches you why people are the way they are. It really is an eye-opening book.